USF Home | USF Directory | myUSF

Research ToolsGuidesLibrary ServicesSpecial CollectionsHelpAbout
View Librarian Profile
Ask a Librarian

Attention RefWorks Users!

The RefWorks,citation management tool, supported by the USF  libraries, is moving to a new platform with new features and tools. You can opt to transition to New RefWorks immediately by logging into your legacy RefWorks account and clicking “move to the newest version of RefWorks” link at the top of the screen.

 

You can maintain both Legacy and New RefWorks accounts in parallel, and Legacy RefWorks will be available through the end of 2017. Note, however, there is no continuous synchronization between the two tools: these are separate tools with different logins.ProQuest does not recommend migrating to the new RefWorks while currently on a deadline or working a project using Write-N-Cite. Papers started in Legacy RefWorks will not be compatible with New RefWorks. Users should maintain their references in their Legacy RefWorks accounts until they complete their work.

For more information visit the RefWorks page http://guides.lib.usf.edu/refworks or contact Susan Silver (ssilver@usf.edu or 813-974-9871) 

RefWorks

What is RefWorks?

‚Äč

RefWorks is a web-based bibliography and database manager that allows you to create a personal, searchable database of citations. These citations can be formatted into your Microsoft Word documents as footnotes or a custom bibliography.

Because it is entirely web-based (i.e. the bibliographic records reside on the web, not on your computer), it gives you access to your bibliographies from Mac, PC, or UNIX, as long as it’s connected to the Internet. To be safe, be sure to backup files. RefWorks also offers a mobile platform.

Currently, RefWorks is available using two platforms, Legacy RefWorks and New Refworks. New RefWorks was released in January 2016. Users may migrate at their own pace until sometime in 2018, when the legacy version is retired. For more information about the transition visit the Transitioning to the New RefWorks page. 

The USF Libraries maintains a site license to RefWorks.   For more information see the RefWorks LibGuide or view a RefWorks video tutorial

 

Accessing RefWorks

Your RefWorks subscription entitles you to both the new and legacy versions of RefWorks:

RefWorks (legacy) offers Students the ability to organize the documents they need to complete assignments, creating instant citations and bibliographies, wrapping up the loose ends that steal hours from sleep or other homework. Faculty value RefWorks for its creation of a simple online workspace that supports research collaboration, transcending geography. And for librarians, RefWorks’ institutional subscription puts them at the hub of their community with a high-value service that supports all university researchers. Legacy RefWorks will be retired in January 2018. NOTE: If you are logging in from off campus, you may be asked for the Group Code for USF. The group code is RWUSouthFlor

Click here to log into the legacy RefWorks.

The New RefWorks is the next generation of reference management software empowering both researchers and librarians to do more. The initial release of a "new" RefWorks platform became available on January 18, 2016. The current (legacy) RefWorks platform is unaffected: new accounts may be created and existing RefWorks accounts remain unchanged. The new RefWorks is expected to receive updates throughout 2016 which will add current (legacy) RefWorks features now lacking in the new RefWorks, i.e. ability to attach image files, ability to attach multiple files to a record, ability to display the interface in non-English languages, etc. The legacy RefWorks platform is expected to retire in January 2018.

Click here to log into the New RefWorks