This guide identifies resources on tests and measures found primarily in the USF Tampa Library, the FMHI Research Library, or on the public Internet. This guide is not comprehensive; rather, it serves as a starting point for research.
ETS Guide ETS Test Locator (PDF)
Susan Ariew (Education Tests & Measures)
University Librarian for Education
Academic Services department
Phone: (813) 974-0304
Office #: LIB112F
4202 E. Fowler Avenue LIB122
Tampa, FL 33620
Ardis Hanson (Psychological Tests & Measures)
This guide is to help researchers use finding aids to locate various measures that attempt to collect valid information about people to describe, compare, or explain their knowledge, attitudes, and behavior. The databases below index various medical, psychology, or education-related tools used by researchers in those fields. There are tests that are published and available for purchase from companies and those that are unpublished and not available commercially for sale.
Databases and Indexes
- Health and Psychosocial Instruments (or HaPI)
Health and psychosocial instruments provides ready access to information on measurement instruments.(i.e., questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/ manuals, rating scales, projective techniques, vignettes/scenarios, tests) in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information science.
- Mental Measurements Yearbook
Buros Institute is the publisher of Mental Measurements Yearbook. Their goal is to provide professional assistance, expertise, and information to users of commercially published tests. Test Reviews Online allows users to search for test reviews (which are offered for sale, but they are all available through the USF Library). Some full text information including professional codes of conduct.
- Testlink (ETS Test Locator)
The Test Collection at ETS is a library of more than 25,000 tests and other measurement devices that makes information on standardized tests and research instruments available to researchers, graduate students, and teachers. Collected from the early 1900s to the present, the Test Collection at ETS is the largest such compilation in the world.The tests in this collection were acquired from a variety of U.S. publishers and individual test authors.
- APA FAQ/Finding Information About Psychological Tests
The APA Science Directorate answers hundreds of calls and emails each year from persons trying to locate the right test or find more information about psychological tests. APA neither sells nor endorses testing instruments, but it does provide guidance in using available resources to find psychological tests. Answers to frequently asked questions are provided here.
- Child Care & Early Education--Datasets, Instruments, and Tools for Analysis
Research Connections offers both research data suitable for further analysis and statistical results generated from public sources. We use the term "research data" to refer to the coded responses from each respondent, documentation that provides the original questions asked, and discussions of complex statistical methods. In order to make use of this data, you will need statistical software and a good understanding of statistical methodology.
- Compendium of Assessment and Research Tools (CART)
A database that provides information on instruments that measure attributes associated with youth development programs. CART includes descriptions of research instruments, tools, rubrics, and guides and is intended to assist those who have an interest in studying the effectiveness of service-learning, safe and drug-free schools and communities, and other school-based youth development activities. Allows users to locate research tools that address an area of focus. Entries include a brief descrip
- Instrument Wizard
The Wizard will identify appropriate instruments, show you the instruments' items, and allow you to export the instruments to a word processing file. You can also learn about the instruments' detailed properties such as psychometrics and scoring information and how to contact the developer or copyright holder.
- Online Evaluation Resource Directory (OERD)
OERL's resources include instruments, plans, and reports (the tabs across the top of this page) from evaluations that have proven to be sound and representative of current evaluation practices.
- Tests and Measures in the Social Sciences
A service of Helen Hough at the University of Texas, this is an index to compilations of tests available in many libraries. The site was designed as a service to locate tests, measures, instruments, etc. when there is a known title or author and a copy of the test is desired. Each record contains (as noted in the source volume): Test title, test acronym, copyright or publication date(s), author(s), source citation, page or accession number. If the test of interest is not listed: 1) the tool may