A beginner’s guide to help new students learn about the services and resources available from the USF Libraries. Topics include:
- Connecting from off campus
- Reading call numbers
- Basic search skills
- Subject and Course Guides
- Inter-Library Loan
- Getting Help
- And more…
This workshop provides an overview of why citation styles are used, the different parts of a citation, and the basics of using the APA citation style.
Upon successful completion of this online workshop, you will be able to:
- Identify the parts of a citation
- Identify a citation using APA style for books, journal articles, and web pages
- Identify in-text citations using APA style for books, journal articles, and web pages
- Identify a reference list using APA style for books, journal articles, and web pages
This module will cover some good practices about how to avoid plagiarism and how to cite your sources appropriately.
Upon successful completion of this module, you will be able to:
- Define plagiarism
- Identify USF sanctions for students who plagiarize
- Identify types of plagiarism
- Define “common knowledge”
- Compare citations for three major formats containing information (books, book chapters, articles)
- Identify three different citation styles
- Identify various tools to help you with citing your sources
- Identify the impact of AI tools such as ChatGPT on plagiarism
This workshop provides an overview of why citation styles are used, the different parts of a citation, and the basics of using the Chicago citation style.
Upon successful completion of this module, you will be able to:
- Explain the importance of citing sources
- Identify the parts of a citation
- Describe the differences between Chicago notes and bibliography style and Chicago author-date style
- Describe in-text citations using Chicago style for books, journal articles, and web pages
- Understand the components of a bibliography and reference list
This workshop is designed to introduce students to essential elements of the literature review.
Upon successful completion of this online workshop, you will be able to:
- Identify a literature review
- Understand how to develop a research topic for a literature review
- Understand how to find and evaluate sources for a literature review using boolean phrases and concept mapping
- Summarize and synthesize sources using a synthesis matrix
- Understand how to structure a literature review
This workshop will help you identify workable topics for literature reviews and other projects that will require you to write with sources.
Upon successful completion of this workshop, you will be able to:
- Identify the components of the research process
- Identify and access sources that could help you gain a working knowledge or background information about your topic
- Identify characteristics that make a topic either too broad or too narrow
- Formulate a research question
- Outline a search plan by using concept maps that document search terms related to your research question
This workshop guides students through the process of designing and presenting a research poster. Pair with the Creating Virtual Presentations workshop as needed.
Upon successful completion of this module, you will be able to:
- Apply design principles to create an effective research poster
- Create visualizations of your research data
- Execute strategies for communicating your research to different audiences
- Increase the impact and visibility of your research project to further your academic or professional career
This interactive workshop provides a brief overview of data literacy and how to understand data.
Upon successful completion of this workshop, you will be able to:
- Define and understand the importance of data and data literacy
- Know when and how data can and should be used
- Identify and critically assess useful data and data sources
- Cite data correctly
- Read and interpret information presented in charts, tables, and graphs
- Evaluate data visualizations and understand best practices
Upon successful completion of this module, you will be able to:
- Identify and locate resources and collections for your information need
- Use basic techniques to find relevant information
- Evaluate information sources to determine relevancy, authority, and accuracy
- Use search results to identify other sources appropriate for your research
This module will introduce you to the concept of choosing and evaluating resources for college writing, and why & how you judge a resource before using it.
Upon successful completion of this module, you will be able to:
- Identify research tools & resources available through the USF Libraries
- Define the term “authority” as it pertains to research
- Identify at least three indicators of authority when presented with a list of possible criteria
- Correctly identify criteria of the TRAAP test & apply the TRAAP test to a set of provided examples
This workshop provides an overview of why citation styles are used, the different parts of a citation, and the basics of using the MLA citation style.
Upon successful completion of this module, you will be able to:
- Understand the importance of citing sources
- Identify the parts of a MLA citation
- Identify the MLA citation style for books, journal articles, web pages, and other common sources
- Recognize how to use MLA in-text citations and works cited pages
This workshop introduces the concepts of claims and hypotheses, and explores how library resources can be used as credible evidence to support a claim or hypothesis.
Upon successful completion of this workshop, you will be able to:
- Associate the parts of a classical argument with the information needed to make a claim
- Select USF databases most appropriate to aid in understanding controversial topics
- Identify the types of information and sources you might find in USF databases selected as most appropriate for opposing claims
This workshop covers the differences between primary and secondary sources in the humanities and how to find primary sources for your research.
Upon successful completion of this module, you will be able to:
- Describe the differences between primary and secondary sources
- Identify a source as primary or secondary and describe how this might change given different research topics
- Recognize that terminology and language are contextual, temporal, and fluid (e.g., language changes over time) and this matters when searching for historical sources
- Find primary sources from the USF Libraries
This workshop describes the characteristics of primary and secondary sources in the sciences, provides examples, and describes how to use USF Libraries to find and evaluate primary sources in the sciences.
Upon successful completion of this module, you will be able to:
- Describe the differences between primary and secondary sources
- Identify a source as primary or secondary and describe how this might change given different research topics
- Recognize that terminology and language are contextual, temporal, and fluid (e.g., language changes over time) and this matters when searching for historical sources
- Find primary sources from the USF Libraries
This workshop provides a brief overview of visual literacy, which can be defined as the skills needed to find, interpret, evaluate, use, and create images or visual media.
Upon successful completion of this workshop, you will be able to:
- Locate images and visual media for different uses
- Appraise and evaluate images and their sources
- Discuss ethical implications surrounding the creation and use of images and visual media