"The U.S. Census Bureau defines race as a person's self-identification with one or more social groups. An individual can report as White, Black or African American, Asian, American Indian and Alaska Native, Native Hawaiian and other Pacific Islander, or some other race."
"Ethnicity determines whether a person is of Hispanic origin or not. For this reason, ethnicity is broken out in two categories, Hispanic or Latino and Not Hispanic or Latino."
Critical race theory argues that white racism is a hegemonic, socially and historically constructed cultural force in American society. This racism expresses itself in popular culture by believed myths, stories, legal rules, and the institutional disposition of prestige and power via the concept of whiteness.
To learn more about Critical Race Theory check out the Research Starter from Salem Press Encyclopedia
Books can be found as ebooks via the links provided or as print items in the USF Libraries. To access the ebooks, you will need to be logged into USF Libraries using your NetID. To log in using your NetID, follow this link: LOGIN
The databases below provide access to articles and other materials that could include information on diversity, equity, and inclusion related to race and ethnicity. A selection of specific articles are linked below the databases. Click on the square with an arrow icon next to each article to access the article. To access most of the resources, you will need to be logged into USF Libraries using your NetID. To log in using your NetID, follow this link: LOGIN
A collection of African American collections such as Florida Negro Papers, The Civil Rights Papers of Cody Fowler and Steven Lawson, and USF Department of Anthropology African Americans in Florida Project.
This link will direct you to an exhibit hosted by the USF Libraries. The web exhibition examines the history of the Civil Rights Movement in Tampa and its environs. It utilizes documents located in the Special Collections department of the USF Tampa Library
This collection includes interviews with several of Florida's civil rights leaders who were active at the height of the civil rights movement in the United States and in Florida during the 1950s and 1960s. The personal narratives provide details about local, regional, and national civil rights issues.
Most of these oral histories were conducted between 1977 and 1978 as part of the Black History of Tampa Project, sponsored by the Tampa Urban League and the Hillsborough County Museum, under the direction of community activist Otis R. Anthony.