Collection Management

Collection Management policies, collection statistics, and library resource information.

Library Resource Cancellations

The USF Libraries’ collections support USF's teaching and research programs.  Maintaining high-quality collections in an environment of constrained budgets requires an active management strategy that occasionally results in cancellations or access restrictions.   Cancellations are preceded by a formal process involving analysis of usage/cost-per-usage, consideration of the resource’s strategic importance to USF programs, and feedback from librarians and faculty. Because some resources are funded through the Florida Academic Library Services Cooperative (FALSC), we must also manage periodic statewide cancellations that are imposed on the SUS libraries. 

 

This e-resources will be cancelled as of 10/1/2019:

  • Visual History Archive - replaced by Fortunoff Video Archive for Holocaust Testimonies. Contact Susan Ariew (sariew@usf.edu) for supervised in-Library only access.
  • ComDisDome

 

The following e-resources doubled in cost this year and will not be renewed as of 6/2/2019:

  • Foundation Directory Online Professional
  • Foundation Grants to Individuals Online

 

Journal titles not renewed due to low use (2019):

  • Criminal Law Bulletin (print)
  • Human Development
  • Vetus Testamentum
  • Polis
  • Plant Physiology

 

 2019 FALSC-funded Resource Cancellations effective 01/01/2019:

  • Value Line
  • Gale Directory Library  (perpetual access to content purchased through 2018 remains)
  • U.S. History in Context (Gale)
  • Index to Legal Periodicals (EBSCO)

 

Cancellations/changes effective in 2018:

  • ARL Statistics Analytics (discontinued by vendor)
  • D&B Million Dollar Database (available from Mergent Intellect)
  • Reference USA (consider Mergent Intellect as alternative)
  • SeekiNF
  • Vanderbilt Television News Archive