Collection Management

Please note that our Communication page has moved to https://lib.usf.edu/collections-and-discovery/communications/.

For important communication notices from USF Libraries Administration, please use the link above.

 

12/14/2020

Meeting: Budget and Collections Realignment

Todd Chavez, Dean of USF Libraries, will meet with the USF Libraries Management Group.


12/10/2020

Discussion: Open Mic with the Dean

Todd Chavez, Dean of USF Libraries, will meet with interested USF Libraries' faculty and staff, offering a space for open conversation regarding the budget and collections realignment process.


12/4/2020

Presentation: Strategic Collection Revisioning

Presentation will be given by Kaya van Beynen, Associate Dean of USF Libraries and Business Librarians Maryellen Nash (Tampa campus) and Gary Austin (St. Petersburg campus), to the MUMA College of Business Faculty Meeting.


12/3/2020

Presentation: Strategic Collection Revisioning

Presentation was given by Kaya van Beynen, Associate Dean of USF Libraries and Jessica Szempruch, USF Sarasota-Manatee Librarian, to the USF Sarasota-Manatee campus Faculty Council.


12/2/2020

Meeting: Budget and Collections Realignment

Todd Chavez, Dean of USF Libraries, will attend the USF Faculty Senate to discuss and answer questions about the USF Libraries budget process


12/2/2020

Discussion: Collections Management Revisioning

The USF Libraries Collection Advisory Group led a discussion with interested USF faculty members, offering a space for open conversation regarding the collections management revisioning process.

Afternoon Session.


12/1/2020

Discussion: Collections Management Revisioning

The USF Libraries Collection Advisory Group led a discussion with interested USF faculty members, offering a space for open conversation regarding the collections management revisioning process.

Morning Session.


11/20/2020

Discussion: Budget and Collections Realignment

Discussion took place between Catherine Cardwell, Campus Dean of the Nelson Poynter Memorial Library, and the USF St. Petersburg campus faculty.


11/19/2020

Meeting: Budget and Collections Realignment

Todd Chavez, Dean of USF Libraries, attended the USF Executive Faculty Senate to discuss the USF Libraries revisioning collection management process.


11/19/2020

Discussion: Open Mic with the Dean

Todd Chavez, Dean of USF Libraries, met with interested USF Libraries' faculty and staff, offering a space for open conversation regarding the budget, collection realignment, holiday work at home, etc.


11/19/2020

Presentation: Strategic Collection Revisioning

Presentation was given by Kaya van Beynen, Associate Dean of USF Libraries, to the USF Council of Technology in Instruction and Research (CTIR).


11/18/2020

Email: Budget and Collections Realignment

Message sent from Todd Chavez, Dean of USF Libraries, to the USF Faculty.

As part of the University’s strategic budget realignment process, the USF Libraries are engaged in a comprehensive “Revisioning Collection Management” process. Because the majority of our base budget is tied to collections, the impact of the realignment must largely accrue to our library materials budget, primarily recurring subscriptions. To meet the realignment targets, our process is guided by the following principles:

  • continue support of faculty resource needs;
  • maximize control of the USF Libraries collection budget;
  • end reliance on non-recurring funding sources;
  • engage faculty in the decision-making process; and
  • refocus collection expenditures on perpetual rather than leased access.

Although the process for accessing full-text library resources may change, the Libraries’ commitment to providing USF faculty and students with access to the content needed for research and instruction is unwavering. To ensure transparency and provide all pertinent information concerning the revisioning process, a comprehensive informational website will be maintained at https://lib.usf.edu/collections-and-discovery/revisioning/. Please see Our Compact with Faculty as well.

We invite you to participate in Q&A sessions the first week of December to learn more, and a morning and afternoon option is available to accommodate schedules. Please register for the session you would like to attend at https://usf.az1.qualtrics.com/jfe/form/SV_daI7kmqQXjCKzWd. Microsoft Teams login information for both sessions are below:

Morning Session: Tuesday, December 1stfrom 11 a.m. – 12 p.m.

Afternoon Session: Wednesday, December 2ndfrom 1 p.m. – 2 p.m.

We look forward to engaging with you throughout this process.


11/18/2020

Meeting: Budget and Collections Realignment

Todd Chavez, Dean of USF Libraries, met with the USF Faculty Senate Executive Committee to discuss the USF Libraries’ budget realignment process.


11/18/2020

Presentation: Strategic Collection Revisioning

Presentation was given by Kaya van Beynen, Associate Dean of USF Libraries, to the USF St. Petersburg campus Faculty Council.


11/16/2020

Presentation: Revisioning Collection Management, DAC 2020

Presentation was given by Todd Chavez, Dean of USF Libraries, to the USF Libraries Dean’s Advisory Council (DAC).


11/13/2020

Presentation: Strategic Collection Revisioning

Presentation was given by Kaya van Beynen, Associate Dean of USF Libraries, to the USF St. Petersburg campus Reserchers Advisory Group.


11/6/2020

Meeting: Strategic Budget Discussion

Todd Chavez, Dean of USF Libraries, updated the Library Council on the USF Libraries’ budget strategy.


11/5/2020

Discussion: Open Mic with the Dean

Todd Chavez, Dean of USF Libraries, met with interested USF Libraries' faculty and staff, offering a space for open conversation regarding the budge and collections realignment process.


11/5/2020

Email: Strategic Budget Discussion, Updated from 11/3/2020

Message sent by Todd Chavez, Dean of USF Libraries, to all USF Libraries' faculty and staff.

Following up on Dean Todd Chavez's message on Tuesday (11/3/2020), he attached revised versions of the slide deck and handout as well as the promised “USF Libraries Compact with the Faculty” authored by our colleagues serving on the Collection Advisory Group (Jason Boczar, Emily Mann, Audrey Powers, and LeEtta Schmidt). Many thanks to the group!


11/3/2020

Email: Strategic Budget Discussion

Message sent from Todd Chavez, Dean of USF Libraries, the USF Libraries' faculty and staff.

To effectively manage this unprecedented budget realignment, it will be essential that everyone has accurate and consistent information that can be shared with members of the University community. To that end, we have prepared tools to help you:

  • an email (attached) that can be shared with colleagues as needed;
  • a slide deck (attached) that can be used for presentations to faculty;
  • a brief handout (attached) that provides an overview of the issues; and
  • a comprehensive website (see link below) containing a wealth of information concerning the realignment and its impact on our collections.

Our goal is to be transparent, accurate, and consistent in all communications to all parties. Although we anticipate that librarians will use this communications packet more frequently in the course of their assigned duties, we have elected to send this email to all employees of the USF Libraries to keep everyone equally informed and capable of sharing accurate information if asked.

In the coming weeks, our Collection Advisory Group (Jason Boczar, Emily Mann, Audrey Powers, and LeEtta Schmidt) will produce a “USF Libraries Compact with the Faculty” –a document that clearly enumerates our unwavering commitment to USF faculty to serve their information resource needs by all means available to us. Once that document is available, it will be distributed to everyone and posted on our “Revisioning Collection Management” website at: https://lib.usf.edu/collections-and-discovery/revisioning/


10/29/2020

Discussion: Open Mic with the Dean

Todd Chavez, Dean of USF Libraries, met with interested USF Libraries' faculty and staff, offering a space for open conversation regarding the budge and collections realignment process.


10/28/2020

Meeting: Budget and Collections Realignment

Todd Chavez, Dean of USF Libraries, met with the USF Faculty Senate to discuss the USF Libraries’ budget realignment process.


10/28/2020

Meeting: Collections Revisioning

Presentation was given by Kaya van Beynen, Associate Dean of USF Libraries, during a Faculty Department Meeting.


10/27/2020

Notice: Institute of Physics journals package reconfiguration effective November 1

The immediate impact is the reconfiguration of the Institute of Physics (IOP) journals package, expiring November 1, 2020. A rigorous analysis of the Institute of Physics (IOP) journals package considered usage, cost per use, research impact, anticipated interlibrary loan and copyright fees, and perpetual content access. As a result, as of November 1, 2020, the USF Libraries will not renew the IOP ScienceExtra package, but rather subscribe to 25 titles individually (list is attached). Articles from titles that are not on this list will be available through interlibrary loan upon request.

In 2013, the USF Libraries purchased IOP backfiles through 2009. Beginning in 2013, annual subscription included perpetual access. This material continues to be available as part of the permanent collection.

The USF Libraries’ commitment to providing USF faculty and students with access to the content needed for research and instruction is unwavering. For more information on the USF Libraries’ revisioning of collection management, please see: https://lib.usf.edu/collections-and-discovery/revisioning/. Updates will be posted to this page in the coming weeks.


10/27/2020

Notice: LatinNews cancellation effective November 1

In order to meet budget realignment targets, as well as to respond to a decade-long pattern of unsustainable annual cost increases, the USF Libraries is in the process of revisioning collection management strategies. A key component of the process is to evaluate all recurring expenditures to retain only those of primary importance to research and instruction at USF.

The immediate impact is the cancellation of LatinNews on November 1, 2020. A rigorous analysis of LatinNews considered usage, cost per use, research impact, and comparable subscribing universities with similar programs. The USF Libraries found declining usage over the past few years, resulting in a cost per use exceeding $25. The USF Libraries continue to provide access to Newsbank and Gale’s Informe for newspaper data, and other sources of country data, including OECD.

The USF Libraries’ commitment to providing USF faculty and students with access to the content needed for research and instruction is unwavering. For more information on the USF Libraries’ revisioning of collection management, please see: https://lib.usf.edu/collections-and-discovery/revisioning/. Updates will be posted to this page in the coming weeks, and I am attaching a handout with further information on our process, principles, and additional resources.


10/27/2020

Meeting: Collection Management Group Role and Assignment

Todd Chavez, Dean of USF Libraries, met with the Collections Advisory Group (CAG) to discuss their charge.


10/27/2020

Meeting: Budget and Collections Realignment

Todd Chavez, Dean of USF Libraries, attended a meeting of the Council of State University Libraries (CSUL) and provided information to them about the USF Libraries’ budget realignment process and how it might impact statewide contracts.


10/26/2020

Email: Streaming Media

Message was sent to Department Chairs.

As the Spring 2021 textbook adoption cycle continues, I have an important message for courses using streaming video content provided by the USF Libraries.

Please submit all streaming video requests through the Course Reserves function in Canvas. Instructions are available at https://lib.usf.edu/course-reserves/make-request/.  If you encounter any issues in submitting through Canvas, please email LIBReserves@usf.edu. The maximum number of videos per course will continue to be limited to five (5) units.

Visit our USF Libraries Media Guide:

  • To search by title to determine if the USF Libraries has perpetual ownership or expiring access to currently available streaming movies
  • To search for movies and documentaries in the USF Libraries’ extensive DVD movie collection
  • To identify open access media alternatives

If you are using a video that is currently expiring mid-spring semester, we recommend planning to use the video before the expiration date. If you would like additional help finding alternate material, please contact your Liaison Librarian.


10/22/2020

Email: USF Libraries' Budget Realignment

Message sent from Todd Chavez, Dean of USF Libraries, to USF College Deans.

I wanted to take a moment to provide some information concerning the USF Libraries’ budget realignment requirements. The budget realignment requirements are substantial and will likely impact the entire community at some level.

  • Year 1 Reduction: $1,383,500
  • Year 2 Reduction: $   650,000
  • TOTAL:                    $1,448,500

The 11 percent realignment includes personnel actions, program elimination/suspension, reduced operational expenditures (e.g. travel, equipment), and membership cancellations, but the majority of the impact will be in our collections budget, primarily recurring subscriptions, because this is the lion’s share of our E&G base budget.

To meet these levels we are compelled to:

  • aggressively modify our seven “Big Deals” –the large subscription bundles that includes Elsevier, Taylor & Francis, Springer/Nature, Wiley, Oxford, Cambridge, and Sage;
  • reevaluate prior “luxuries” such as maintaining subscriptions to both Web of Science and Scopus;
  • target low use/high cost content even if they are research intensive; and
  • consider cancellations of anything on the margins of our institutional mission.

It is going to be very difficult to balance our deepest desire to do no harm and meet these targets, but we think that we can manage the tightrope through an equally aggressive service plan and commitment to meeting faculty needs by any means necessary. To that end, we are launching a phased approach:

  • Now through December –Step 1: notify vendors/publishers that USF will be reviewing its current collection selections and will reacquire a subset. This is the legal step we must take to meet the terms of our contracts and licenses. This will immediately impact four “Big Deals.”
  • November through January –Step 2: conduct a comprehensive analysis of our recurring collection. Through our website (see below), we will literally flood the faculty with data that they can choose to review, or not. It will be a transparent exercise.
  • January through February/March –Step 3: reacquire content based on the analysis in Step 2.
  • March through May –Step 4: review and consider next steps on canceled content. ILL/Document Delivery and other mechanisms will be in place in January to bridge gaps.

Ironically, we anticipate (remains to be tested) that we may actually create a discretionary buffer that will allow us to permanently acquire “leased” content to lower future recurring obligations. That evaluation will go on concurrently with Steps 2-3. Because we have no discretionary funds at this time, we cannot take advantage of these opportunities.

Finally, we are preparing (an early draft is up at https://lib.usf.edu/collections-and-discovery/revisioning/) a comprehensive information resource to ensure 100 percent transparency in all that we do. Once we are ready, we will market this resource to the University community as a one-stop-shop for collection impacts from the realignment.

One request: if any of you can share any specific program impacts, this will be very helpful. For example, if you are considering a program’s elimination or a change from Grad 2 to Grad 1, we can consider those resources as candidates for cancellation without fear of impact.


10/21/2020

Meeting: Collections Initiative

Todd Chavez, Dean of USF Libraries, met with the USF Libraries Associate Deans and Collections and Discovery leadership.


10/21/2020

Email: Faculty Advisory Group for collections formation

Message sent from Todd Chavez, Dean of USF Libraries, to the Libraries' faculty members.

USF is facing an unprecedented series of budgetary challenges that will play out over a two-year period. The total two year recurring realignment process to our collections budget approaches $2 million. This level of change requires an aggressive response that must include cancellations of content in all disciplines, judicious retention of core/high use resources, and utilization of alternative information sources, all coupled with a robust strategy to continue to meet faculty needs to the greatest extent possible.

Todd Chavez is calling for nominations (self-nominations are welcome) for library faculty to serve on a USF Libraries Collections Advisory Group with the following charge:

The Collections Advisory Group is charged with advising the Dean of the USF Libraries on strategies to be employed to manage the Libraries’ collections during 2020-22. Activities include:

  • drafting a “USF Libraries Compact with the Faculty” document that clearly describes the libraries’ commitment to supporting our faculty’s needs by any means available;
  • collaborating with the leadership of Collections & Discovery to develop principles to guide reduction/retention decisions;
  • collaborating with C&D and library leadership to develop a robust communication strategy that ensures transparency to all constituents, internal and external;
  • advising all relevant functional areas on processes designed to meet faculty resource needs; and
  • recommending, and subsequently implementing, an approved assessment strategy to ensure high-quality in those services developed to meet faculty resource needs.

Members of the CAG will be asked to meet regularly with C&D leadership and the Dean and should anticipate a significant time investment in the early phases of the collection review process, perhaps as much as 8-10 hours per week. Members of the group will participate with the Dean in presentations, email communications, and other activities as needed to ensure full transparency to the University community; this may include periodic meetings with senior University leadership, the USF Faculty Senate, and the Faculty Senate’s Library Council. Please send nominations, including self-nominations, directly to me no later than the end of business on Monday, October 26. The short deadline is needed so that the group leader can join in a meeting with UCM and other parties concerning budget realignment messaging on October 29.


10/21/2020

Meeting: Collection Management

Todd Chavez, Dean of USF Libraries, met with several Collections and Discovery staff members regarding the USF Libaries’ budget realignment process and expectations.


10/12/2020

Meeting: Budget and Collections Realignment

Tom Cetwinski, Associate Dean of USF Libraries, met with the USF Libraries Management Group.


10/12/2020

Discussion: Budget Realignment

Discussion took place between Tom Cetwinski, Associate Dean of USF Libraries, and the other Associate Deans and Administration Staff regarding the budget realignment.


10/8/2020

Email: Strategic Collection Revisioning

Message sent by Kaya van Beynen, Associate Dean of USF Libraries, to the Research and Instruction librarians on the USF Tampa, St. Petersburg, and Sarasota-Manatee campuses.

Message gave the USF Libraries Research & Instruction Librarians group an update on the Libraries' strategic collection revisioning process.


10/8/2020

Meeting: Strategic Collection Revisioning

Presentation was given by Kaya van Beynen, Associate Dean of USF Libraries, during a Faculty Department Meeting.


10/2/2020

Meeting: Strategic Budget Discussion

Presentation was given by Todd Chavez, Dean of USF Libraries, to the Library Council.


9/28/2020

Meeting: Budget and Collections Realignment

Todd Chavez, Dean of USF Libraries, met with the USF Libraries Management Group.


9/28/2020

Meeting: Personnel Realignment

Todd Chavez, Dean of USF Libraries, met with the USF Libraries Management Group to discuss personnel reassignments to assist with the USF Libraries budget realignment.


9/23/2020

Presentation: USF Libraries All Staff Meeting

Todd Chavez, Dean of USF Libraries, held a mandatory meeting with all USF Libraries' faculty and staff to discuss the libraries’ budget, collection realignment, and working at home..


9/23/2020

Meeting: Collection Realignment

Todd Chavez, Dean of USF Libraries, met with Rose Bland, Director of the Shimberg Health Sciences Library, and Carol Ann Davis, Associate Dean of USF Libraries.


9/22/2020

Meeting: Budget and Collections Realignment

Todd Chavez, Dean of USF Libraries, met with the Council of State University Libraries (CSUL).


9/22/2020

Meeting: Strategic Budget Discussion

Todd Chavez, Dean of USF Libraries, met wtih the USF Libraries Management Group.


9/14/2020

Meeting: Update on Budget

Todd Chavez, Dean of USF Libraries, met with the USF Libraries Management Group.


9/11/2020

Meeting: Collections and Services

Todd Chavez, Dean of USF Libraries, met with the Research Platform Teams (RPT) group.


9/10/2020

Discussion: Budget Realignment

Discussion took place between Todd Chavez, Dean of USF Libraries, and Rose Bland, Director of the Shimberg Health Sciences Library, regarding the budget realignment.


9/9/2020

Meeting: Collections Revisioning

Presentation was given by Kaya van Beynen, Associate Dean of USF Libraries, during the Faculty Department Meeting.


9/1/2020

Notice: Information Regarding the Strategic Budget Realignment, for the University Community

The USF Libraries are participating in the strategic budget realignment process with all other units on the Tampa campus. In an effort to ensure consistent communication with our colleagues on all three campuses, faculty may receive this response when suggesting new purchases.

Thank you for submitting a request/requests for a new resource for the USF Libraries collections. The Library appreciates your interest in helping to develop collections and services relevant for your research and teaching. We are working with our numerous vendors on acquiring a price quote/quotes for this material.

Please be aware that as part of the university's budget strategy for the coming year, the library --  and all colleges and support units across the Tampa campus -- is experiencing a significant budget realignment. Changes in funding for Library collections coupled with an annual average increase of 4.4% for recurring collection commitment greatly restricts our purchasing capacity. As a result, the Library is unable to purchase additional resources at this time.

The Library will keep your request and the associated vendor quote should the situation unfold in the coming weeks which allows a return to active collection development.

Please address questions to Carol Ann Davis, Associate Dean, at borchert@usf.edu.


8/26/2020

Notice: Project Muse Evidence-Based Acquisition Program

The USF Libraries’ Project Muse Evidence-Based Acquisition program for ebooks, which has provided faculty and students the discovery and access to significant scholarly books, is coming to an end on August 31st. The Library is in the process of purchasing unowned titles with the most substantial usage or need with the amount remaining in the deposit account. We will hold in reserve a small amount as a contingency to be expended by mid-September in case there are valued titles that we missed in our process. If you have any requests for Project Muse titles please let us know as soon as possible. C&D will determine if we own them already. Project Muse records for titles that we are not purchasing and have not been used will be removed from the catalog by August 31. Titles with recent usage that are not selected for purchase on the Project Muse platform will be made available via the Demand Driven Acquisition program on the Ebook Central platform, with associated records loaded into the catalog. If you, or any patron, are seeking an ebook title that you can no longer find in the catalog, please let us know, and we will endeavor to make it accessible for you.


8/25/2020

Meeting: Budget and Collections Realignment

Todd Chavez, Dean of USF Libraries, met with the Council of State University Libraries (CSUL).


8/24/2020

Notice: HathiTrust Emergency Temporary Access Service (ETAS) Program Shutdown at USF

HathiTrust has been assisting libraries with bridging access to print collections for the past few months while we have been closed. During that time, we have not been permitted to loan print materials from the collection that are also in HathiTrust, because the HathiTrust online access "counted" as our copy for that time. With the reopening of the library, we have requested HathiTrust shut off the temporary online access to the digitized versions of the library's print titles on their platform, effective August 24. Patrons will be able to check out the print materials by requesting them via mail or retrieving them in the building. We determined this step was necessary because, per the terms of the HathiTrust ETAS program, we could not allow both access to the print copies in the collection and the online versions through HathiTrust at the same time.


8/24/2020

Meeting: Update on Budget

Todd Chavez, Dean of USF Libraries, met with the USF Libraries Management Group.


8/18/2020

Discussion: Budget Realignment and Services During Work at Home

Discussion took place between Todd Chavez, Dean of USF Libraries, and an ORACLE editor regarding USF Libraries' strategic budget realignment and services that will be offered during stay at home.


8/17/2020

Meeting: Budget Realignment

Todd Chavez, Dean of USF Libraries, met with the Libraries' staff.


8/12/2020

Meeting: Budget Planning

Todd Chavez, Dean of USF Libraries, met with the Library Executive Group.


8/10/2020

Meeting: Budget Status

Todd Chavez, Dean of USF Libraries, met with the USF Libraries Management Group.


8/6/2020

Meeting: Budget Realignment

Presentation was given by Todd Chavez, Dean of USF Libraries, during the USF Libraries Faculty Meeting.


8/5/2020

Meeting: Budget Realignment for Collections

Todd Chavez, Dean of USF Libraries, met with the leadership of the USF Libraries Collections and Discovery department.


3/17/2020

Email: Working Remotely

Message sent from Todd Chavez, Dean of USF Libraries, to USF Libraries' faculty and staff.

Effective 3/17/2020 at 1:30PM, we will be closing the building to everyone (students, faculty, and the public) EXCEPT library and building partner personnel. At the present, we will remain closed through April 5th but will need to remain flexible to respond to further directives.

We will continue to have two small teams onsite: 1) ILL will continue document and material delivery (no lending) and 2) Patrick, Matt, and Jerry will remain to support ILL, accept shipments, and maintain the building. Two additional teams will be on call as needed: 1) a circulation team (laptops) and 2) a course reserve team. We will activate those teams as needed.

Which leads me to remind you of two points: assuming you are healthy, everyone should remain available if needed to assist with an onsite staffing requirement and you can only return to the building after obtaining supervisory approval to do so. The former case is unlikely but possible, and the last point is for your safety.

As always, I will keep you informed. Stay connected, stay engaged, and stay healthy.