This page lists unexpected outages and planned maintenance affecting library services such as the library's discovery or proxy systems as well as databases, eBooks, eJournals and other content. If you are unable to connect to a resource or service not listed here or have a question about one that is listed, please contact us.
| Status | Date | Resource | Issue | Details |
| Resolved 4/17/2024 | 4/4/2024 | Sage: Research Methods, Business Cases, Knowledge, Data Planet, Skills, CQ Press Library | Access Issue | Access to Sage: Research Methods, Business Cases, Knowledge, Data Planet, Skills, CQ Press Library through OpenAthens is currently not working. Access through EZproxy is working fine. The vendor is working on fixing the issue. |
| Resolved 3/23/2024 | 3/22/2024 | Inter-Library Loan (ILL) | Maintenance | Atlas Systems is performing preventive maintenance on Friday, March 22nd, from 9:00 PM to 1:00 AM EDT. Our ILLiad web pages may be unavailable during the maintenance window. |
| Resolved 2/20/2024 | 2/19/2024 | Statista | Off-Campus Access Issue | Our off-campus access to Statista is currently not working. The vendor is working on fixing the issue. The on-campus access is working fine. For off-campus access, connect through VPN (https://vpn.usf.edu) and use this link: https://www.statista.com/ |
| Resolved 2/14/2024 | 2/14/2024 | ProQuest and Alexander Street Databases | Access Issue | Currently, a system issue is affecting access to the ProQuest and Alexander Street databases. The vendor is working on fixing the issue. |
| Resolved 2/8/2024 | 2/8/2024 | Ebook Central eBooks | Access Issue | Currently, a system issue is affecting the performance of Search on Ebook Central. The vendor is working on fixing the issue. |
| Resolved 1/7/2024 | 1/6/2024 | Ebook Central eBooks | Maintenance | Due to scheduled maintenance, ebooks on the ProQuest Ebook Central platform will be unavailable on: Saturday, January 6, 2024 10:00 pm - Sunday, January 7, 2024 2:00 am EST. |
| Resolved 12/6/2023 | 12/6/2023 | OpenAthens | No Access through OpenAthens | OpenAthens is currently experiencing degradation of service, affecting authentication and access to electronic resources. OpenAthens is working on resolving the issue. |
| Resolved 8/31/2023 | 8/31/2023 | S&P NetAdvantage | Access Issue | S&P NetAdvantage is currently experiencing service issues. Users are getting this error message, "HTTP ERROR 503. Cannot contact upstream server". The vendor is working on fixing the issues. |
| Resolved 8/30/2023 | 8/28/2023 | ACLS, BAR Digital | Access Issue | The Fulcrum platform is down, affecting access to ACLS and BAR Digital Collection. The vendor is working on fixing the issue. |
| Resolved 8/16/2023 | 8/16/2023 | ProQuest, Alexander Street | Authentication Issue | Currently, a system issue is affecting authentication and access to ProQuest and Alexander Street databases. ProQuest is working on fixing the issue. |
| Resolved 8/12/2023 | 8/12/2023 | Alexander Street | Maintenance | Alexander Street will be performing maintenance on Saturday, August 12, 2023 between 12:00 AM - 4:00 PM EDT. During this maintenance window, Alexander Street platforms and services, including search.alexanderstreet.com and video.alexanderstreet.com, will be temporarily unavailable. |
| Resolved 7/19/2023 | 7/19/2023 | A-Z Databases | Search Box Not Working | The A-Z Databases search box is not working properly. Please search databases by letter. Springshare is working on resolving the issue. |
| Resolved 4/7/2023 | 4/7/2023 | Inter-Library Loan (ILL), Library Forms | Access Issue | The USF shib.auth.usf.edu service certificate has expired. If you are unable to login to a resource, including Inter-Library Loan (ILL) service, please try the Firefox browser. USF IT is working on resolving the issue. |
| Resolved 3/30/2023 | 3/30/2023 | Inter-Library Loan (ILL) | Access Issue | The USF shib.auth.usf.edu service is currently down and is affecting the library Inter-Library Loan (ILL) service. USF IT is working on resolving the issue. |
| Resolved 1/18/2023 | 1/18/2023 | Library Catalog (Primo) | Server Down | The library catalog (Primo) is currently down and searches are yielding no results. Ex Libris is aware and working on resolving the issue. |
| Resolved 1/11/2023 | 1/10/2023 | Library Electronic Resouces | Access and Authentication Issue | We are experiencing short instances of authentication failure in accessing library resources through OpenAthens. FLVC is working on the issue. The temporary solution is to wait a few minutes, clear browser cache, and try again. |
| Resolved 1/11/2023 | 1/11/2023 | WRDS | Maintenance | The WRDS technical infrastructure will be undergoing a major upgrade from 8:00 - 11:00 AM Eastern on Wednesday, January 11, 2023. During this time, most WRDS services will be unavailable. |
| Resolved 1/8/2023 | 1/8/2023 | Ebook Central eBooks | Maintenance | Due to scheduled maintenance, ebooks on the ProQuest Ebook Central platform will be unavailable on: Sunday, January 8, 2023 1:00 am - 4:00 am EST. |
| Resolved 10/26/2022 | 10/26/2022 | PrimoVE, Alma, Library Resource Access and Authentication | Access and Authentication Issue | FLVC is currently troubleshooting an issue with authentication to several FLVC services – Alma, Primo VE, and library databases. The issue is affecting the access to the library electronic resources. FLVC will send out additional updates when available. |
| Resolved 10/18/2022 | 10/18/2022 | PrimoVE, Library Resource Authentication | Authentication issue | FLVC is currently troubleshooting an issue with authentication to several FLVC services – Alma, Primo VE, and library databases. They will send out additional updates when available. |
| Resolved 9/13/2022 | 9/13/2022 | Gale Databases | Access Issue | The Gale databases are currently not loading or taking a longer time then normal time to load. Gale is working on fixing the issue. |
| Resolved 7/17/2022 | 7/16/2022 | ProQuest/Alexander Street | Maintenance | ProQuest will be performing maintenance from Saturday, July 16, 2022 10:00 PM EDT until Sunday, July 17, 2022 6:00 AM EDT to upgrade infrastructure and enhance security. During this maintenance window, Books in Print and Alexander Street products will be temporarily unavailable. |
| Resolved 6/13/2022 | 6/13/2022 | EZproxy | Access Issue | There is an issue with our EZproxy connection. Users are not able to login to the library via EZproxy and access the library remotely via EZproxy. In order to access the library e-resources, you need to connect to the library via VPN (see instructions here: https://usfjira.atlassian.net/servicedesk/customer/portal/4/article/10934682250 ). |
| Resolved 5/12/2022 | 5/12/2022 | Wiley Online Library | Access Issue | Wiley Online Library is currently experiencing service issues. Users are getting this error message, "This web property is not accessible via this address". We reported the issue to Wiley. |
| Resolved 5/12/2022 | 5/12/2022 | Project Euclid | Maintenance | The Project Euclid site will be down for scheduled maintenance on May 12, 2022 from 6:00 PM - 8:00 PM ET. Content, including Duke Mathematical Journal, Annals of Mathematics, Rocky Mountain Journal of Mathematics, Illinois Journal of Mathematics, and Michigan Mathematical Journal, will be unavailable during this time. |
| Resolved 2/24/2022 | 2/23/2022 | Scopus | Search Unavailable | When attempting to search in Scopus the response is: "Search is not available. Scopus is experiencing a technical issue. Please try again later." Elsevier support is aware of the issue and working on a solution. |
| Resolved 02/09/2022 | 02/09/2022 | Primo VE (Quicksearch) | Authentication Issue | Florida Virtual Campus (FLVC) is currently investigating an issue with the authentication services for Alma and Primo VE. You may see an error message and be unable to sign in, or your login attempts may be delayed. FLVC is working on resolving the issue. |
| Resolved 01/16/2022 | 01/15/2022 | Ebook Central eBooks | Maintenance | Due to scheduled maintenance, ebooks on the ProQuest Ebook Central platform will be unavailable on: Saturday, January 15, 2022 10:00 pm - Sunday, January 16, 2022 1:00 am EST. |
| Resolved 12/14/2021 | 12/14/2021 | Women Writers Online | Website Unavailable (Server Upgrade) | The Women Writers Project web server will undergo an upgrade on Tuesday, December 14, 2021. The entire website, including Women Writers Online, will be unavailable for several hours, starting at approximately 06:00 AM EST. Users will receive a generic "Unable to connect" message. |
| Resolved 12/07/2021 | 12/07/2021 | EBSCO eBooks | Access Issue | EBSCO is experiencing service issues affecting EBSCO ebooks due to an Amazon Web Service outage. EBSCO is working on resolving the issues. |
| Resolved 11/24/2021 | 11/24/2021 | EZproxy | Access Issue | There is an issue with our EZproxy connection. Users are not able to login to the library via EZproxy and access the library remotely via EZproxy. In order to access the library e-resources, you need to connect to the library via VPN (see instructions here: https://www.usf.edu/it/documentation/virtual-private-network.aspx). |
| Resolved 11/08/2021 | 11/08/2021 | EBSCO Databases and eBooks | Access Issues | EBSCO is currently experiencing problems across products. Components affected: EBSCOhost Research Databases, EBSCO eBooks, DynaMed, and EBSCO Mobile App. EBSCO is working on resolving the issues. |
| Resolved 10/29/2021 | 10/28/2021 | Wiley Online Library | PDF Downloading | Cannot download PDFs when using proxy access, however you can if on-campus or connected through VPN. Wiley known issue. Ticket submitted to Wiley to whitelist our EZproxy IP address. |
| Resolved 10/15/2021 | 10/15/2021 | Gale Databases | Access Issues | The Gale databases are currently experiencing very slow load times and/or possibly providing an error message. Gale is working on resolving the issues. |
| Resolved 10/13/2021 | 10/13/2021 | EBSCO eBook Collection | eBooks Degraded Performance | EBSCO is experiencing issues with viewing eBook Full Text, resulting in degraded performance. EBSCO is working on resolving the issues. |
| Resolved 08/25/2021 | 08/25/2021 | EBSCO eBook Collection | eBooks Unavailable | EBSCO is experiencing issues with eBooks being unavailable within the EBSCO eBook Collection. EBSCO is working on resolving the issues. |
| Resolved 08/23/2021 | 08/23/2021 | EBSCO Databases | Service Latency and HTTP Handler Error | EBSCO is experiencing service latency and HTTP Handler Error issues with Holdings Management, EBSCOhost Databases, EBSCO Discovery Service (Find It!) and Publication Finder. EBSCO is working on resolving the issues. |
| Resolved 08/22/2021 | 08/20/2021 | EBSCO Databases | OpenURL in Primo (Quicksearch and Articles) | Article links from Primo (Quicksearch and Articles) to EBSCO databases lead to an error "Item not found. We are unable to find your item. Try searching EBSCO". EBSCO is working on resolving the issue. In the meantime, users can access these articles by searching the EBSCO databases listed on the A-Z Databases website. |
| Resolved 07/24/2021 | 07/24/2021 | ProQuest Databases | Maintenance | ProQuest will be taking up to a ten-hour maintenance window beginning Saturday, July 24, 2021 at 10:00 PM EDT to upgrade infrastructure and enhance security. During this maintenance window, many ProQuest products, including ProQuest databases and Chadwyck-Healey databases, will be temporarily unavailable. |
| Resolved 06/26/2021 | 06/26/2021 | Ebook Central eBooks | Maintenance | On Saturday, June 26, 2021 from 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM EDT, Ebook Central will be offline and ebooks will be unavailable due to scheduled maintenance. |
| Resolved 06/23/2021 | 06/23/2021 | EBSCO (Holdings Management and EBSCOadmin) | Maintenance | EBSCO will be performing scheduled maintenance on Wednesday, June 23rd, 2021 between 8:00 AM - 3:00 PM EST. Customers may experience interruptions or slowness with Holdings Management (Full Text Finder) in EBSCOadmin. |
| Resolved 06/09/2021 | 06/09/2021 | EBSCO (Holdings Management and EBSCOadmin) | Maintenance | EBSCO will be performing scheduled maintenance on Wednesday, June 9th, 2021 between 2:00 PM - 5:00 PM EST. Customers may experience interruptions or slowness with Holdings Management (Full Text Finder) in EBSCOadmin. |
| Resolved 06/07/2021 | 06/07/2021 | EZproxy/Ebook Central | EZproxy Authentication/Ebook Central Access Issue | We are experiencing remote access issues with EZproxy authentication for certain user groups, affecting their access to ebooks on the Ebook Central platform. If you cannot log in from off-campus via the EZproxy, please connect to the library via VPN (see instructions here: https://www.usf.edu/it/documentation/virtual-private-network.aspx) to access the library electronic resources remotely (except for Ebook Central ebooks). |
| Resolved 05/12/2021 | 05/12/2021 | ILLiad (InterLibrary Loan | Maintenance | Atlas Systems will be performing scheduled maintenance on May 12, 2021, between 9:00 PM - 12:00 AM EDT. USF's ILLiad web pages may be unreachable during the maintenance window. |
| Resolved 04/24/2021 | 04/24/2021 | Harvard Business Publishing | Maintenance | Harvard Business Publishing multimedia cases, online courses, tools, tutorials, and podcasts will undergo system maintenance on Saturday, April 24, from 11:00 PM to 1:00 AM EDT. During this time, access to these products will be unavailable to instructors and students. |
| Resolved 04/21/2021 | 04/20/2021 | Library eResources | Remote Access via EZproxy | USF IT has recently corrected this hostname: old.auth.usf.edu. This triggered a remote access issue to the Library via EZproxy. The issue should resolve itself soon, once your Internet provider's DNS servers update this hostname. As temporary solutions for Windows OS, we recommend clearing your browser browsing data, cache, and cookies, then press Windows + R key, open cmd, type ipconfig /flushdns, and click enter; or using VPN (see instructions here: https://www.usf.edu/it/documentation/virtual-private-network.aspx). |
| Resolved 04/20/2021 | 04/20/2021 | MyEBSCO Personal Accounts | Inability to log in | There is a known issue with MyEBSCO personal users accounts. Users are not able to log in their MyEBSCO personal accounts and get a 504 Gateway Time-out error. EBSCO is working on resolving the issue. |
| Resolved 04/19/2021 | 04/18/2021 | Library Authentication via EZproxy | Not Working | There is a known issue with the USF Libraries authentication/log in via EZproxy. Please use VPN (https://www.usf.edu/it/documentation/virtual-private-network.aspx) to connect and access library resources remotely. We are working on resolving the issue. |
| Resolved 04/13/2021 | 04/13/2021 | ILLiad (InterLibrary Loan) | Upgrade | Atlas Systems will upgrade their platform on April 13th, 2021, between 8:00 AM - 12:00 PM EDT. USF's ILLiad web pages may be unreachable during the upgrade window. |
| Resolved 04/02/2021 | 04/02/2021 | ILLiad (InterLibrary Loan) | Maintenance | Atlas Systems will be performing preventative maintenance on April 2nd, 2021, between 9:00 PM - 12:00 AM EDT. USF's ILLiad web pages may be unreachable during the maintenance window. We can still utilize our ILLiad client software during this time. |
| Resolved 03/27/2021 | 03/25/2021 | EBSCO Products | Intermittent Linking Errors | EBSCO is experiencing intermittent linking errors. Components affected: EBSCOhost Databases, EBSCO Discovery Service (Find It!), and Full Text Finder (Find it @USF). EBSCO is currently investigating the issues. |
| Resolved 03/24/2021 | 03/24/2021 | EBSCO (EBSCOadmin and Holdings Management) | Maintenance | EBSCO will be performing scheduled maintenance on Wednesday, March 24th, 2021 between 8:00 AM - 1:00 PM EST. Users may experience interruptions or slowness with Holdings Management (Full Text Finder) and HoldingsIQ/ RM API during this time. |
| Resolved 03/08/2021 | 03/08/2021 | EBSCO Products | Service Issues | EBSCO Find It!, Full Text Finder, and EBSCOhost Databases experience latency issues and/or Service Unavailable Error. EBSCO is working on resolving the issues. |
| Resolved 02/28/2021 |
02/25/2021- 02/28/2021 |
EBSCO Products | Currency | Due to a planned systems upgrade, users may experience a delay in the currency of publications on Find It!, Full Text Finder (Find it@USF), and EBSCOhost Databases between February 25 and February 28, 2021. Currency will be restored beginning Monday, March 1st. |
| Resolved 02/24/2021 | 02/24/2021 | Library Authentication via EZproxy | Not Working | There is a known issue with the USF authentication/log in via EZproxy. Please use VPN (https://www.usf.edu/it/documentation/virtual-private-network.aspx) to connect and access the library remotely. USF IT is working on resolving the issue. |
| Resolved 02/24/2021 | 02/24/2021 | EBSCO (EBSCOadmin, Holdings Management, and Reports & Statistics) | Maintenance | EBSCO will be performing scheduled maintenance on Wednesday, February 24th, 2021 between 1:00 - 3:00 PM EST. Users may experience slowness or brief interrupted access to journal articles (Full Text Finder) during this time. |
| Resolved 02/18/2021 | 02/18/2021 | EBSCO Full Text Finder | Access Issue | There is a known issue with Full Text Finder (Find it@USF) links to journal articles resulting in an error message which reads, "An error has occurred while processing your request". EBSCO is working on resolving the issue. |
| Resolved 02/10/2021 | 02/10/2021 | EBSCO Products | Access Issue | EBSCO is currently experiencing problems across products. Components affected: Full Text Finder (journal articles), EBSCO Discovery Service (Find It!), and EBSCOhost Research Databases. EBSCO is working on resolving the issues. |
| Resolved 02/04/2021 | 02/04/2021 | Wiley Online Library | Access Issue | Wiley Online Library is currently unavailable. Wiley is working to restore access as soon as possible. |
| Resolved 01/31/2021 | 01/30/2021 | ProQuest Ebook Central | Maintenance | Due to scheduled maintenance, ProQuest Ebook Central will be unavailable on Saturday, January 30, 2021 10:00 pm - Sunday, January 31, 2021 6:00 am EDT. |
| Resolved 01/29/2021 | 01/29/2021 | EBSCO Find It! and EBSCOhost Databases and eBooks | Access Issue | There is a reported issue accessing content in EBSCO Find It! and EBSCOhost Databases and eBooks. Clicking the detailed record results in an application error. EBSCO is investigating. |