Faculty & TAs: Easily Create Reading Lists of Library Resources in Canvas!
This tool creates reading lists with links to library resources in your Canvas course.
10 Steps to Setting up Curriculum Builder in Canvas
Adding a new module
1. Add a new module in your Canvas course (+Module)
a. Select Add Module
b. Name module (e.g. Course Readings)
c. Select Add Module
2. Click on the “+” on the right, to Add Item using the drop down box
3. Add External Tool, scroll down until you see, Find It! – Curriculum Builder, and click on Add item
4. When it appears, select Edit and change the title (e.g. First week’s readings). Click Update.
a. You can later organize selected readings into folders or create a new set by “add item” as you did in Step 3. Do not change the URL.
b. Click on the new item title.
c. Be sure to publish the module when you are ready for students to view it.
Selecting readings from library resources using Find It!
5. In the box, “Search Library Resources” enter keywords, or author’s name, or a title of a resource. The results will appear within a Canvas framework for your course.
6. To refine the results, look to the left and limit results by peer-reviewed, or Source Type (i.e., Academic Journals) etc.
7. Click on Add to Reading List for each item you wish to add. Please note: Add the items with full text links first; for items without full text links see “Tips” section below
8. To view your selected readings, go to the upper left hand corner and click on See Current Reading List
Organizing your reading list
9. To sort the list of articles, click on one and drag it to the top or indicate the sort order at the upper left of the box for each reading. Additional features:
a. To add notes for students, click on Add Notes
b. To add a website link, click on Add Web Resource
c. To organize reading list into folders, click on Add Folder. Place readings in folder by selecting the folder by Move to Folder on the right side of the item in the box.
10. To view in Student View: Click on Settings and select Student View
Tips for selecting Items from Find It! - Curriculum Builder (Ebsco)
This new tool provides the most direct, full text links to resources provided through the publisher Ebsco. However, you may find articles in journals to which the library has a subscription, but there is no full-text link to the resources in your results list. This is because the library may not own the item or it may not be directly available through Ebsco.
Please see below for tips and if you have questions, contact your librarianfor help.
No visible full text icon for the item
We may have full text access through another database not available through Ebsco:
Check to see if there is an DOI in the item record which you can paste into a browser to get access
If not, open a new tab: go to lib.usf.edu
Paste the title into the Find it! box
Locate the item in the results list
Click on FindIt @USF
Select from the list of full text options
When locate the full text of the article, copy and paste the DOI link in Add Notes (Step 9a) to the reading item (e.g., “Students: Make sure you are logged in to the campus network. Use this link to access the full text of this article…”)
You see the icon, “Check holdings in your library”
Click on to see a record in your library catalog
If there is a link USF ONLINE ACCESS, click through to online journal
Click online full-text option
Locate the article in the issue and volume
Place a note for the item (Add Notes Step 9a) to tell the students that they need to click through, and will land on the journal’s web site. They can find the article by locating it with the issue, year, and page number.
You see the icon, “Request Item through Interlibrary Loan”
Do not add this to a reading list but ask your librarian to order the item and placed it on reserve for your course.
If you have any issues or problems locating the item on the list, please contact your librarian!