Welcome to the University of South Florida Libraries research guide on diversity, equity, and inclusion! This guide will continue to evolve as new resources become available. We invite you to be a part of this process by submitting comments, feedback, and suggestions for resources.
Use the main tabs to the left (above on mobile) to navigate to the separate parts of this guide. Use the Guide Feedback tab on this page to submit feedback and resource suggestions.
Thank you to the University of Tennessee for permission to model this guide after their Diversity & Inclusion LibGuide. You can find their guide here.
The USF Counseling Center works to promote the wellbeing of the campus community by providing culturally sensitive counseling, consultation, prevention, and training that enhances student academic and personal success.
The Office of DIEO works to foster an institutional climate that is welcoming, inclusive, and safe for students, faculty, staff and visitors. They provide oversight for equal employment opportunity, as well as processes to mitigate harassment and discrimination. They also coordinate Title IX services in conjunction with other units to prevent sexual violence and create a culture of safety.
Student Accessibility Services works with students, staff, and faculty to promote equitable and accessible education, meaningful self-advocacy, awareness of disability issues and inclusiveness for the USF community.
A collection of African American collections such as Florida Negro Papers, The Civil Rights Papers of Cody Fowler and Steven Lawson, and USF Department of Anthropology African Americans in Florida Project.
This link will direct you to an exhibit hosted by the USF Libraries. The web exhibition examines the history of the Civil Rights Movement in Tampa and its environs. It utilizes documents located in the Special Collections department of the USF Tampa Library
This collection includes interviews with several of Florida's civil rights leaders who were active at the height of the civil rights movement in the United States and in Florida during the 1950s and 1960s. The personal narratives provide details about local, regional, and national civil rights issues.
This USF Libraries Oral History Project provides primary source material that emphasizes sexuality and gender identity-based cultures. The oral histories include first-hand experiences, everyday life, community, and common use terminologies.
The USF Libraries’ Special Collections is determined to expand its collection of historically significant lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer (LGBTQ) materials in monographic, audio-visual, ephemeral, and archival formats. Our focus is on collecting materials that document LGBTQ history, culture, politics, community relations, and public health. While the Tampa Bay region remains an important focus, these collections are international in scope. LGBTQ collections provide valuable research material for scholars across disciplines—History, Law, Sociology, Political Science, American Studies, etc.
Most of these oral histories were conducted between 1977 and 1978 as part of the Black History of Tampa Project, sponsored by the Tampa Urban League and the Hillsborough County Museum, under the direction of community activist Otis R. Anthony.
If you need assistance accessing resources (print or electronic), you may come to the library or contact the following: