USF Shimberg Health Sciences Library

Taneja College of Pharmacy Library Guide

How do I find a journal article on my topic?

1. Decide on the subject for which you want to locate articles.

The more specific the topic is, the more relevant the results you will retrieve. For example, search the phrase low back pain not just pain.

2. Choose a Database appropriate for your subject.

PubMed, EMBASE, CINAHL, and Web of Science are all databases containing medical, nursing, and public health article citations.

To select the best database for your discipline, consult your discipline-specific guides for the appropriate area.

If you are uncertain how to choose the best database, make an appointment with one of the USF Health Libraries Reference Librarians.

3. Search the Database for articles on your subject.

For database-specific tips on how to use a particular database, look for help within the database or consult the Resource Tutorials.

Some databases allow you to limit your search to peer-reviewed articles. 

Review the article abstracts to determine if the article is appropriate to answer your research question.

4. Retrieve the full-text for articles that look promising

Some databases may already have a link to the full text of the article you require. Look for a full text, PDF, or HTML link to view the full copy of the article online. If none of these are available, click on the Find It At USF to check the USF Libraries collection.

5. If you are unable to find the full-text in the USF Libraries Collection, request an Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad). 

Plan ahead! It may take up to a week to 10 days to obtain the article through Interlibrary Loan.

Keep up with the literature

Annals of Pharmacotherapy

Annals of Pharmacotherapy is a peer-reviewed journal that advances pharmacotherapy throughout the world by publishing high-quality research and review articles to achieve the most desired health outcomes.The articles provide cutting-edge information about the most efficient, safe and cost-effective pharmacotherapy for the treatment and prevention of various illnesses.

Drug Safety

Drug Safety covers the disciplines of pharmacovigilance, pharmacoepidemiology, benefit-risk assessment, risk management and medication error prevention, specializing in reviews on the epidemiology, clinical features, prevention and management of adverse effects of individual drugs and drug classes.

Journal of the American Pharmacists Association (JAPhA)

The Journal of the American Pharmacists Association, the official peer-reviewed journal of the American Pharmacists Association, provides members with articles and columns on pharmaceutical care, drug therapy, diseases and other health issues, trends in pharmacy practice and therapeutics, informed opinion, and original research.

Currents in Pharmacy Teaching & Learning

Currents in Pharmacy Teaching and Learning is devoted to dissemination of high quality, peer-reviewed scholarship relevant to all areas of pharmacy education—promoting educational research excellence. The Journal maintains a particular focus in two major areas: pharmacy faculty development in the scholarship of teaching and learning and the scholarship of interprofessional pharmacy education.

Nanomedicine: Nanotechnology, Biology & Medicine

Nanomedicine: NBM is an international, peer-reviewed journal presenting novel, significant, and interdisciplinary theoretical and experimental results related to nanoscience and nanotechnology in the life sciences. Content includes basic, translational, and clinical research addressing diagnosis, treatment, monitoring, prediction, and prevention of diseases.

American Journal of Pharmaceutical Education

The American Journal of Pharmaceutical Education (the Journal) is the official scholarly publication of the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy (AACP). Its purpose is to document and advance pharmaceutical education in the United States and internationally.