This is the "Home" page of the "Conducting a Literature Review" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Conducting a Literature Review  

This guide will direct you to the correct resources to locate library materials to support your research endeavors.
Last Updated: Jul 30, 2013 URL: http://guides.lib.usf.edu/LitReview Print Guide Email Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Research Librarian for CoTA

Profile Image
Audrey Powers
Contact Info
USF Tampa Library, Room 112A
813.974.9001
Send Email

Let Us Know ...

Welcome

Welcome to the library workshop and guide Conducting a Literature Review.  In this workshop we will be reviewing pertinent library resources and services you should know about that will be useful to you when putting together a research plan and doing library research.

In this workshop we will cover the following:

Locating Items on the web page that are important to you and your research
Borrowing materials from other libraries
Bibliographic Management Tools / Reading Citations
The Research Process
Using catalogs including a
dvanced searching techniques and WorldCat
Using databases including how to locate the databases most useful to you, knowing what they do; tips & tricks, etc.
Database Tips such as Alerting Services, Getting an Account, Exporting citations, etc.
Connecting to the online item – full text, streaming videos, etc.

Develop a Research Plan

  • Design a search strategy for searching the appropriate databases or a concept map
  • Be comprehensive
  • Follow the bibliographic trail
    Read Bibliographies
    Identify Dissertations
    Locate scholars on your topic and in your field
    Search WorldCat
    Check Cited References
    Use controlled vocabulary in thesauri for pearl growing
  • Use "Alerting Services"
  • Employ a bibliographic management tool

  • Keep notes of where you looked, what you used to locate information (search terms) and what you found

  • Use controlled vocabulary, thesauri, descriptors, and/or subject terms

  • Don't use federated searching

 

Basic Library Tutorials

The  RESEARCH 101 TUTORIALS will provide you with background information about how to use the library such as logging in to the library webpage from off campus, using Find It!, searching three basic databases, etc.  If you are new to using the library, need a refresher, or want to learn about a few important new resources like Find It! in the library, please review these tutorials.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip