Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Systems Access Alerts: Home

This page lists unexpected outages and planned maintenance affecting library services such as the library's discovery or proxy systems as well as databases, eBooks, eJournals and other content. If you are unable to connect to a resource or service not listed here or have a question about one that is listed, please contact us.

eResources: databases, eBooks, eJournals and other content

Status Date Resource Issue Details

Resolved  11/18/2020

11/18/2020 USF Libraries Catalog (Mango) Down The USF Libraries Catalog (Mango) is currently down. FALSC is working on resolving the issue.
Resolved 10/26/2020 10/26/2020 EZproxy: Remote access Maintenance Our EZproxy server will be performing scheduled maintenance on Monday, October 26, 2020 for approximately 2 hours, starting 7:30 AM EDT. Please use VPN (https://www.usf.edu/it/documentation/virtual-private-network.aspx) to connect and access the library remotely. Once connected via VPN, for links like http://ezproxy.lib.usf.edu/login?url=https://muse.jhu.edu/books/9780253001023, please remove the http://ezproxy.lib.usf.edu/login?url= string in the browser.
Resolved 10/25/2020 10/25/2020 Library Catalog Maintenance

FLVC will be performing routine system maintenance on our library and digital services servers on Sunday, October 25, from 6:00 am until 10:00 am ET. The following services will experience a brief interruption during the maintenance window: Aleph ILS, the catalog (Mango), and FL-Islandora.

Resolved 10/15/2020 10/06/2020 EBSCO Databases and Find It! EZproxy Authentication for Linked Full Text There is a known issue with Linked Full Text in EBSCO databases and Find It! when users are connected through EZproxy. Linked Full Text may prompt users to authenticate again with their USF NetID and password. To solve this issue, EBSCO replaced Linked Full Text with Find It @USF.
Resolved 09/30/2020 09/29/2020 EBSCO eBooks Access Issue There is a known issue with downloading EBSCO ebooks using Adobe Digital Editions. Users may see the error: License Server Communication Problem. EBSCO is working on resolving this issue.
Resolved 09/22/2020 09/22/2020 EBSCO Systems Access Issue EBSCO is currently experiencing problems across systems showing slow response or timeouts. Components affected: Full Text Finder (journal articles), EBSCO Discovery Service (Find It!), EBSCOhost Research Databases, and EBSCO eBooks. EBSCO is working on resolving the issues.
Resolved 09/18/2020 09/18/2020 Duke University Press Access Issue The Duke University Press (Journals and Books) website is down. The vendor is working on resolving the issue.
Resolved 09/19/2020 09/19/2020 Historical Statistics of the US Maintenance The Historical Statistics of the United States website will be undergoing maintenance on Saturday, September 19th and will be unavailable for approximately 12 hours starting at 3:00 am EDT.
Resolved 09/16/2020 09/16/2020 EBSCO Discovery Service (Find It!) Access Issue There is a known intermittent loading issue with EBSCO Discovery Service (Find It!). EBSCO is working on resolving the issue.
Resolved 09/09/2020 09/09/2020 EBSCO Full Text Finder Access Issue

There is a known issue with Full Text Finder (Find it@USF) and Publication Finder links to journal articles resulting in an error message which reads, "Application Error". EBSCO is working on resolving the issue.

Resolved 08/13/2020 08/13/2020 ACLS Humanities E-Book Platform (Fulcrum) Maintenance Beginning at 6:00 am EDT on Thursday, August 13, the ACLS Humanities E-Book platform, Fulcrum, will be unavailable while scheduled maintenance takes place. The outage is expected to last approximately 2 hours, between 6:00 - 8:00 am EDT.
Resolved 08/19/2020 08/10/2020 EBSCO Systems Access Issues EBSCO is currently experiencing problems across systems. Users may experience slowness and access issues with the Linked Full Text links within Find It! and EBSCOhost databases. EBSCO is working on resolving the issues. If you get "A System Problem has Occurred" message, please search for the e-journal title first and then search for the article in that particular e-journal.
Resolved 08/10/2020 08/10/2020 Northwest Regional Data Center (NWRDC Maintenance The Northwest Regional Data Center (NWRDC) will be performing network maintenance on Monday, August 10, between 2:00 am - 6:00 am ET. During the maintenance window, brief outages to all FLVC databases and services are expected, including, but not limited to, ABI/INFORM Complete, Nexis Uni, Education Source, the catalog (Mango), and ILL.
Resolved 08/04/2020 08/04/2020 EBSCO Maintenance EBSCO will be performing scheduled maintenance on Tuesday, August 4, 2020 from 5:00 AM until 9:00 PM EDT. During this time, no new personal user accounts can be created and existing personal account users cannot edit their information, including performing a password reset. Users may experience issues logging into the EBSCO Audiobooks mobile app during this service window. All EBSCOhost databases and interfaces will be available for the duration of the service window and all existing personal account users will be able to access all products and folders.
Resolved 08/03/2020 08/03/2020 Northwest Regional Data Center (NWRDC) Maintenance The Northwest Regional Data Center (NWRDC) will be performing network maintenance on Monday, August 3, between 2:00 am - 6:00 am ET. During the maintenance window, brief outages to all FLVC databases and services are expected, including, but not limited to, ABI/INFORM Complete, Nexis Uni, Education Source, the catalog (Mango), and ILL.
Resolved 07/272020 07/272020 Northwest Regional Data Center (NWRDC) Maintenance The Northwest Regional Data Center (NWRDC) will be performing network maintenance on Monday, July 27, between 2:00 am - 6:00 am ET. During the maintenance window, brief outages to all FLVC databases and services are expected, including, but not limited to, ABI/INFORM Complete, Nexis Uni, Education Source, the catalog (Mango), and ILL.
Resolved 07/262020 07/262020 FLVC Maintenance FLVC (Florida Virtual Campus) will be performing routine system maintenance on the library and digital services servers on Sunday, July 26, between 6:00 am - 10:00 am ET. The following services will experience a brief interruption during the maintenance window: the catalog (Mango), Aleph ILS, and Islandora.
Resolved 07/09/2020 07/09/2020 EZproxy Server Down Our EZproxy server is down. USF IT is working on resolving the problem. Please use VPN to connect and access the library remotely. Once connected via VPN, for links like http://ezproxy.lib.usf.edu/login?url=https://muse.jhu.edu/books/9780253001023, please remove the http://ezproxy.lib.usf.edu/login?url= string in the browser.
Resolved 07/07/20 07/07/20 EBSCO Maintenance

Holdings Management - System Maintenance

Upcoming scheduled maintenance notice

EBSCO will be performing scheduled maintenance on Tuesday, July 7th, 2020 from 8:30 AM until 1:00 PM EDT. Users may experience slowness or brief interrupted access to journal articles during this time.
Resolved 07/07/20 07/07/20 ProQuest - Early English Books Online Legacy Site Shutdown of Legacy Site

We are soon approaching the shut-down of the Early English Books Online (EEBO) legacy site, which will occur on July 7, 2020. EEBO is now accessible on the ProQuest platform. Some additional enhancements to the new site have gone live in June, and below is a summary:

Improvements to phrase searching: scholars can now search for both exact and variant spelling forms within a phrase

After feedback, the hit count fr each item in the results set now only counts terms that actually appear in the transcribed TCP full text, instead of also including search term hits in subjects, author and other metadata fields

The current “Full text” links on results pages are now labelled “TCP full text” in order to clearly highlight works having fully searchable, Text Creation Partnership transcriptions in addition to the standard, page image full text

The first 3 hits in each transcript are now always shown on results pages with the context of the surrounding text

The Advanced Search page has been given a field to restrict a search to books, periodicals or both

Help text has been updated

Resolved 06/27/20 06/27/20 ProQuest: Ebook Central Maintenance Ebook Central will be temporarily unavailable on Saturday, June 27th, from 12pm to 3pm ET due to scheduled maintenance.
Resolved 06/26/20 06/26/20 ProQuest: Ebook Central Unable to download or read eBooks online ProQuest has identified the issue affecting the performance of viewing ebooks on search.proquest.com and expect to resolve it shortly. Thank you for your continued patience.

Resolved 06/25/20

06/25/20 ACLS Humanities E-Book Platform (Fulcrum) Maintenance Beginning at 6:00 am EDT on Thursday 6/25, the ACLS Humanities E-Book platform, Fulcrum, will be unavailable while scheduled maintenance takes place. The outage is expected to last approximately 2 hours (6:00 - 8:00 am EDT), but if services are found to be available sooner, it is OK to use them.
Resolved 06/23/20 06/23/20 EBSCOhost Databases and Find It! Access Issues We are currently experiencing access issues with EBSCOhost Research Databases, EBSCO ebooks, and EBSCO Discovery Service (Find It!), including ejournal articles. EBSCO is working on resolving the issues.
Resolved 06/01/20 06/01/20 EBSCO eJournals Maintenance EBSCO will be performing scheduled maintenance on Monday, June 1st, 2020 from 9:00 AM until 9:00 PM ET. Users may experience slowness or brief interrupted access to journal articles during this time.
Resolved 06/01/20 05/27/20 Science Direct eJournals Issues downloading PDFs from some eJournals There is a known access issue with some of the ScienceDirect journals. Elsevier is currently working on a resolution. In the meantime, articles from these journals can be downloaded via the search result page. If you see "Get Access" after clicking on "Download PDF", go back to the article, select it (check the box), and then click on "Download selected articles". This will generate a zip file with the PDF of the article.
Resolved 06/01/20 05/27/20 EBSCO Find It! unresponsive or slow Find It! is intermittently unresponsive or slow. When searching in Find It!, if you receive a yellow banner in Firefox that states "A web page is slowing down your browser" with no results, click on Stop it.