University of South Florida Libraries
A Guide to biographical sources available from the USF Library
Biography Index Past and Present (EBSCO)
D: Biographical information on notable figures from antiquity to the present across a range of disciplines and subjects.
Biography Reference Bank
D: Comprehensive biographical resource with many full-text biographies and abstracts for event more. Also includes images and portraits, which are searchable.
Includes biographical information on half a million people from antiquity to present. Biography Reference Bank is searchable by name, profession, birth place, and birth and death years.
Biography in Context (formerly Biography Resource Center)
D: Comprehensive database of biographical information for historical and contemporary figures.
Other Biography Resources
Literature Resource Center
D: Biographical and bibliographical information aggregated from Contemporary Authors, Dictionary of Literary Biography, and Contemporary Literary Criticism Select.
Biography and Genealogy Master Index
D: Indexes current, easily accessible biographical references sources and some important historical sources. Contains names, birth/death years, and bibliographic references to books containing material on that person.
African American Biographical Database
D: Biographical information on African Americans, including obituary files, slave narrative collections, photographs, and illustrations. Coverage: 1790-1950.
Something About the Author
D: Biographical information on authors and illustrators of books for children and young adults. Coverage: 1971-current.
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
D: Illustrated biographies of the men and women from around the world who shaped all aspects of Britain's past. Includes biographies of current and historical figures. Coverage: 4th century BC-2001.
American Men and Women of Science
Publication Date: 1989
D: A biographical dictionary of 120,000 physical and biological scientists. There is also a comprehensive index listing scientists by field and by state.
Chambers Biographical Dictionary
Publication Date: 1997-10-15
The Writers Directory 2005
Miranda H. Ferrara.
Publication Date: 2004-09-01
Apr 28, 2017 10:01 AM
Login to LibApps