Funding Opportunities in the Humanities and History

An overview of available funding opportunities for students in History, Humanities, and Cultural Studies.

Short-term fellowships and miscellaneous grants (includes Undergraduate, Master's and Post-Master's)

Program Deadline Program Summary
Alpha Kappa Alpha (AKA) Educational Advancement Foundation Graduate Scholarships Summer Graduate scholarships awarded on merit and financial need. Must demonstrate community service and involvement.
American Academy in Rome & American School of Classical Studies at Athens Oscar Broneer Fellowship Varies Full-term, short-term, and exchange fellowships for graduate students, postgraduate study, and senior scholars.
American Academy in Rome Annual Rome Prize Fall Awarded to emerging artists and scholars who are in the early  or middle stages of their working lives.
American Association of University Women (AAUW) International Fellowship Fall Fellowships for international women engaged in full-time graduate and post-graduate study or research in the United States.
American Councils Research Fellowships Title VIII Research Scholar Program Fall Full support for graduate students, faculty, and independent scholars conducting in-country research in Eastern Europe.
American Folklife Center Archie Green Fellowship Spring Funding to support new, original resources, and documentation of contemporary occupational culture.
American Heraldry Society William Barton Graduate Scholarship Summer Scholarship to complete thesis, dissertation, or capstone project relevant to the use of heraldry in the United States and its territories and possessions.
American Historical Association Grants and Fellowships Winter/Spring Grants to advance the study and exploration of history in a diverse number of subject areas. Fellowships fund significant scholarly research.
American Musicological Society Howard Mayer Brown Fellowship Fall Supports one year of full-time graduate study in musicology for students from historically underrepresented groups. 
American Numismatic Society: The Donald Groves Fund Varies Grant to cover travel funding and other expenses related to publication in the field of early American numismatics.
Archaeological Institute of America Fall Fellowships, grants, and scholarships for travel and study.
Aspen Institute William Randolph Hearst Endowed Scholarship for Minority Students Varies Combined internship and fellowship to introduce diverse students to issues/challenges affecting philanthropy, social enterprise, nonprofit organizations, and other actors in the social sector.
Bibliographical Society of America Fellowships Fall Short-term fellowships to support bibliographical inquiry and research in the history of the book trades and publishing.
CARA Summer Programs and Tuition Scholarships Spring Stipends to fund summer courses in medieval languages or manuscript studies.
Critical Language Scholarship Program Fall Fully funded, overseas language and cultural immersion program for American undergraduate and graduate students.
Davis-Putter Scholarship Fund Spring Funding for students actively engaged in social and economic justice movements.
Deutscher Akademischer Austauschdienst (DAAD) Varies Wide range of scholarships and grants for students, faculty, and researchers to facilitate transatlantic mobility.
Evers Research Scholars Program Spring Travel, housing, and expense stipend to encourage work in the history of civil and human rights at the state archives in Mississippi.
Fulbright - National Geographic Digital Storytelling Fellowship Fall Opportunities for United States citizens to participate in an academic year of overseas travel and digital storytelling on a globally significant theme in one, two, or three countries.
Getty Education Institute for the Arts: Library Research Grants Fall Residential grants and fellowships.
Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History Fellowships Summer Short-term research fellowships for doctoral candidates, college and university faculty, and independent scholars working in the field of American history.
The Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi Fellowship Program Varies Funding opportunities to support a range of scholarly and academic endeavors.
Humanity in Action: The Diplomacy and Diversity Fellowship Winter Transatlantic education program to explore the changing international dynamics of diplomacy and diversity.
Massachusetts Historical Society Short-term Fellowships Spring Fellowship to support four or more weeks of research in the Massachusetts Historical Society collections.
National Endowment for the Humanities Collaborative Research Fellowship Fall Supports interpretive humanities research undertaken by two or more collaborating scholars for periods of one to three years.
Newberry Library Fellowship in the Humanities Fall Short- and long-term fellowships to use the Newberry's collections.
Paul and Daisy Soros Fellowship for New Americans Fall Awards 30 new Americans, immigrants, or the children of immigrants who are pursuing graduate school studies in the United States.
Smithsonian Institute Graduate Fellowships Varies Opportunities for students of varying backgrounds engaged in a wide range of scholarly activities.
Smithsonian Minority Awards Program - Visiting Student Varies Awards to increase participation of United States minority groups who are underrepresented in Smithsonian scholarly programs.
UCLA Library Special Collections Short-Term Research Fellowships Visit website Variety of research award opportunities to support use of special collections materials by visiting scholars.
Yale LGBT Studies Research Fellowship Spring Travel stipend and living allowance for one-month fellowship to support research in lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, or queer studies at Yale University.
Zeno Karl Schindler Foundation Master's Thesis Grant Winter/Fall Grants to support collaborative inter-university top research in medieval disciplines and digital humanities.