USF Home | USF Directory | myUSF

Research ToolsGuidesLibrary ServicesSpecial Collectionsnav-spacerHelpAbout

Applied Behavior Analysis

This page provides a look at key resources for anyone interested in applied behavior analysis (ABA). Many of these resources are pertinent to students in the ABA graduate program in the College of Community and Behavioral Sciences.

Key Resources

 

For a refresher on how to use the databases and other basic library skills, look at these tutorials on YouTube:

http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLE7E644F2269EC37D

For advanced concepts, look at the second block of Instructional Videos, accessed from the FMHI Library LibGuide! http://lib.usf.edu/fmhi/instructional-videos/.

PsycINFO (EBSCO) provides access to the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences.

Medline® (ProQuest) covers the international literature as it relates to medicine and health care.

PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, includes all citations in Medline, additional life science journals not indexed in Medline, and links other sites providing full text articles like the U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH) archives.

JSTOR provides the complete contents of journals, from inception up to a "moving wall" that blocks access to the most recent years.

Web of Science houses content from the highest impact journals worldwide, including Open Access journals and conference proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, with coverage back to 1900.

For more information, please feel free to contact me at http://lib.usf.edu/fmhi/contact-us/

 

What is Applied Behavior Analysis?

Baer, Wolf, and Risley's 1968 article [1] is the standard description of Applied Behavior Analysis (ABA). ABA is the "process of applying sometimes tentative principles of behavior to the improvement of specific behaviors, and simultaneously evaluating whether or not any changes noted are indeed attributable to the process of application -- and if so, to what parts of that process." In short, ABA is a "self-examining, self-evaluating, discovery-oriented research procedure for studying behavior" (p. 91).


[1]

Baer, D.M., Wolf, M.M., Risley, T.R. (1968). "Some current dimensions of applied behavior analysis". Journal of Applied Behavior Analysis 1 (1): 91–97. doi:10.1901/jaba.1968.1-91 http://www.pubmedcentral.nih.gov/articlerender.fcgi?pubmedid=16795165

ABA