This subject guide includes online resources that enhance K-12 curriculum development. It includes sites for teacher resources such as technology tips and lesson plans, homework sites for children and adolescents, diversity resources, and other age-approp
This guide includes online resources that enhance K-12 curriculum development. It includes sites for teacher resources such as technology tips and lesson plans, homework sites for children and adolescents, diversity resources, and other age-appropriate links that can be used to inform and supplement the teaching and learning process.
- Common Core Aligned Resources
K-12 resources aligned to the Common Core State Standards. Add your resource quality ratings and comments.
- Common Core Resources
Resources posted off of the OER Commons to help teachers with the Common Core standards.
- Discovery Education
One of the most comprehensive curriculum sites on the Web, Discovery Education offers both subscription and free services to teachers, parents and students. Under "Classroom Resources" one finds free lesson plans, clip art, and other neat tools. Under "Home Resources" one finds homework help in most major academic subjects.
- EduHound--Everything for Education K12
EduHound.com is a highly specialized educational directory with built-in resource links offered free to educators, students and parents. EduHound.com seeks to harness the vast information resources of the Web, while enabling educators to use the Internet as a classroom tool.
- FREE-Federal Resources for Educational Excellence
This site includes more than 1,500 teaching and learning resources under general categories such as Arts and Music, Health and Physical Education, History and Social Studies, Language Arts, Match, and Science. It offers delivery of information via RSS feeds. Users can search for materials using keywords and phrases. There is also a subject map that allows for broad topic searching. A valuable site for both students and teachers.
- Great Websites for Kids
Sponsored by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, this site is an online resources containing hundreds of links to exceptional websites for children (14 years and younger). Organized into diverse subject headings, the site includes a special section with sites of interest to parents, caregivers, and teachers.
- Kathy Schrock's Guide for Educators
Kathy Schrock's Guide for Educators is a categorized list of sites useful for enhancing curriculum and professional growth. It is updated often to include the best sites for teaching and learning.
MERLOT is a leading edge, user-centered, searchable collection of peer reviewed and selected higher education, online learning materials, catalogued by registered members and a set of faculty development support services. MERLOT's vision is to be a premiere online community where faculty, staff, and students from around the world share their learning materials and pedagogy. There is also a Teacher Education Center which offers excellent K-12 Curriculum Resources and excellent information sites.
- Inspiring Teachers
This site targets new teachers and is intended to assist classroom teachers by offering helpful ideas, tips, encouragement, teaching methods, recommended books by subject, discussion lists, and a weekly newsletter. This site was constructed for teachers by teachers. Included also are sections for substitute teachers, veteran teachers, and mentor teachers with articles, blogs, teaching tips and more. The site founders, Emma McDonald and Dyan Hershman are coauthors of Survival Kit for New Teachers
For curriculum information about Children and Young Adult Literature, click here.