This guide offers you resources for finding and reviewing juvenile literature.
- Children's Literature Comprehensive Database
The Children’s Literature Comprehensive Database is one that pulls together reviews of children’s and young adult literature. Along with reviews from such quality sources as The Alan Review, The Horn Book, and Booklist, the database offers profiles about authors and illustrators along with 145,000 Web links to more information about them. Over 260,000 entries identify select books that have received state, national, and international awards.
- Children's Literature Review
Available from the Gale collection, Literature Criticism Online, from Louisa May Alcott to Judy Blume, the most popular and influential authors of the genre are assessed through criticism of their major works.
- Education Full Text
Education Full Text brings you comprehensive coverage of an international range of English-language periodicals, monographs and yearbooks. Full text of articles cover to cover, from hundreds of journals, make this a one-stop source for education related research.
- ERIC on EBSCO
ERIC — the Education Resources Information Center — is an online digital library of education research and information. ERIC is sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education. The ERIC collection includes annotated bibliographic records (citations, abstracts, and other pertinent data) for more than 1.2 million items indexed since 1966.
- Library Literature & Information Science Full-Text
Much of the library-related literature includes reviews of children's and young adult books. Library Literature & Information Science Full Text, is a bibliographic database that indexes articles and book reviews of key library and information science periodicals published in the United States and elsewhere.
- Literature Resource Center
This database, compiled from various Gale literature publications covers more than 90,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers with in-depth coverage of 2,000 of the most studied authors. Search by author, title, genre, literary movement, or literary themes or combine criteria to create a highly-targeted custom search path.
- MLA Internatoinal Bibliography
The MLA international bibliography indexes journal articles, books and dissertations in the areas of literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory and criticism, rhetoric and composition, dramatic arts, and the historical aspects of printing and publishing. Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to the 1920's and contains over 1.8 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series, and 1,000 book publishers. The indexed materials coverage is international and includes almost 60 titles from JSTOR's language and literature collection as well as links to full text. This database includes journal abbreviations and acronyms for almost 3,500 titles.
50 Best Children's Literature Blogs. Blogs are now the way people keep up with authors, illustrators, and books generally. Here's a list of the best of the best.