Contains list of guidelines and systematic reviews from 2001 to present that have implications for clinical practice (speech or audiology). Can be browsed by keyword for topic or by resource type. A summary and brief appraisal of the relevant segment of each guideline or systematic review is provided. This work has been conducted by ASHA's National Center for Evidence-Based Practice in Communication Disorders (N-CEP).
Offers complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses' Association, covering nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative complementary medicine, consumer health, and 17 allied health disciplines.
In addition, CINAHL offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters. This database also provides full text for 56 journals plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments, clinical trials.
TL: The Cochrane database of systematic reviews (COCH) includes the full text of the regularly updated systematic reviews of the effects of healthcare prepared by The Cochrane Collaboration. The reviews are presented in two types: Complete reviews (regularly updated Cochrane Reviews, prepared and maintained by Collaborative Review Groups); and Protocols (protocols for reviews currently being prepared. Protocols are the background, objectives and methods of reviews in preparation). Coverage: 2002 to present
TL: Offers a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. Signing in to Google Scholar through the Library Web site connects you to the full-text subscription items more directly than if you bypass the library and go directly there.
TL: Covers both the nature and use of language, including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Specific areas include applied linguistics, the history of linguistics, the history of language and education. Articles from over 1200 journals, books and conference proceedings are included. Coverage began in 1973 and updates are provided monthly.
TL: MEDLINE on this service contains over 4 million citations and abstracts, providing unparalleled access to worldwide biomedical literature. The database contains a broad range of medical topics relating to research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and health care services. Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE contains all records published in Index Medicus and since 2002, most citations previously
TL: PubMed was developed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI). It was developed in conjunction with publishers of biomedical literature as a search tool for accessing literature citations and linking to full-text journals at web sites of participating publishers. Provides access to over 12 million Medline citations back to the mid-1960's and additional life science journals.
PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, includes over 15 million citations for biomedical articles back to the 1950's. These citations are from MEDLINE and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.
TL: This unique tool supports research in the social and health sciences. Containing content from SAGE books, journal literature, and videos, the SAGE Research Methods Online (SRMO) database provides students of research methods and researchers with a wealth of information about research in both theoretical and practical terms.
The search interface offers both standard search options and the Methods Map. The latter is an innovative visualization tool that maps the relationships between methods; it is similar in some ways to the taxonomy of a subject thesaurus, but in this context more akin to the hierarchies that qualitative researchers use to conceptualize research results.
The ISI Web of Science provides seamless access to the Science Citation Expanded®, Social Sciences Citation Index®, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index™. It enables users to search current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from approximately 8,500 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world.