This is the "Introduction" page of the "E-Books at the USF Libraries" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

E-Books at the USF Libraries  

Last Updated: Jun 13, 2013 URL: http://guides.lib.usf.edu/ebooks Print Guide Email Alerts

Introduction Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

E-Books

E-Books in the Classroom

instructors can now request the USF Libraries to acquire e-Books for classroom support if they are available electronically.

 

Introduction to e-Books at the USF Library

E-books are electronic versions of print books. The USF Libraries have access to thousands of e-books covering a variety of disciplines. Accessing e-books from an academic library is a bit different than borrowing an e-book from a public library or buying an e-book from an online bookstore. The e-books that are avaiable through the USF Libraries are published by the same scholarly publishers and academic presses as the library's print colletion.

  • E-books may all be read online
  • Many ebooks can be partially downloaded or printed(a chapter or a set amount of pages)
  • Some vendors require you to log in  through your myUSF account
  • Some vendors, such as Ebrary and EBL  allow  "borrowing" of MOST titles for full-text offline reading, but you need to create an account. The first time you borrow one of these e-books you need to download free Adobe Digital Editions software and set up an account. ADE provides the platform for reading and managing rights for downloaded e-books,  -- it controls loan periods and ensures that "borrowed" books aren't pirated. (IOS devices require additional software.)

Do I need an account to read e-books?

As long as you are logged into the library website, most e-book collections do not require an account to view and read a title. Printing, copying and downloading books MAY require that you create an account in that collection.

Can I read ebooks on my mobile device?

The USF Libraries subscribe to several e-book collections that currently offer thousands of titles for check-out and transfer to an e-reader or other device. While each collection has its own unique download process, in general, you can use any web enabled device that is able to run Adobe Digital Editions (ADE), such as Nook, iPad, iPhone/ iPod touch, Sony e-readers, or laptops, desktops etc.

Finding E-Books

E-books can be searched  using the USF Libraries catalog. A link to connect full text of the e-book is available below the citation in the catalog record. You can also search specific collections through their individual interface/search pages.  There is a link to the search page for each collection under the each tabe above. Links to individual e-book collections can also be found on  the "Research Tools" menu under "Databases by Subject".

Can I print from ebooks?

Most e-books allow a "reasonable" amount of printing, typically between 5% and 20% of the book. Some vendors control use through Digital Rights Management (DRM), which requires that users download Adobe Digital Editions (ADE).

Are there print copies of e-books in the library?

The library is moving toward acquiring ebooks over print books in most cases, so the library most likely will have either a print OR an electromic copy of a book. However, for some titles  there may be a print copy as well as an online copy of the book in the collection. Thiis is rapidly becoming the exception, rather than the norm. Check the library catalog to determine the format(s) available

Get Librarian Help

  • Ask A Librarian
    CHAT HOURS, links to chat and email reference, consultation requests, library services desk, and telephone hours.
 

Looking for the Common Reading Experience e-book?

Click on the tab for MyiLibrary (Coutts') at the top of the screen for more information

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip