This is the "Best Bets" page of the "Geology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Geology  

Last Updated: Nov 14, 2012 URL: http://guides.lib.usf.edu/geology Print Guide Email Alerts

Best Bets Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Research Rescue

Megan Sheffield

Profile Image
Matt Torrence
Contact Info
Office LIB 111
813 974-2779
Send Email
 

Get Librarian Help

Best Bets

When searching for journal articles concerning geology the following databases are the 'best bets' for finding scholarly peer-reviewed materials.

  • GeoBase
    GeoBase contains citations with abstracts covering worldwide literature on geography, geology, ecology, international development, and their related disciplines. Subject coverage includes cartography, climatology, energy, environment, geomorphology, hydrology, photogrammetry, sedimentology, geochemistry, geophysics, paleontology, petrology, volcanology, and much more.
  • GeoRef
    GeoRef covers the geology of North America from 1785 to the present and the geology of the rest of the world from 1933 to the present. It contains earth sciences references and the index terms that describe them and it indexes many journals in 40 languages as well as new books, maps, and reports. GeoRef includes references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey, and the U.S. and Canadian theses in the geosciences.
  • GeoScience World  
      
    GeoScience World provides online access for the first time to thirty-one journals for six societies in the geosciences. It includes publications of American Geological Institute (AGI) and Geological Society of America (GSA). This resource is an aggregation of peer-reviewed journals indexed, linked, and inter-operable with GeoRef. All journals have a minimum of one back year and most titles start with the year 2000.
  • Web of Science  
      
    The ISI Web of Science provides seamless access to the Science Citation Expanded®, Social Sciences Citation Index®, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index™. It enables users to search current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from approximately 8,500 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world.
  • Science Direct  
      
    Science Direct is a database for scientific research that contains the full text of more than 1,000 Elsevier Science journals in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences available throught the Internet. It contains abstracts and articles from the core journals in major scientific disciplines. The journals are arranged under subject areas for topical navigation.

  • Additional Databases
    A list of additional databases related to geology.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip