USF Shimberg Health Sciences Library

Guide to Library Resources and Tutorials

How-To Guides

How do I use the library catalog?

You can search the catalog by:

  • Author
  • Book/journal title (not article title)
  • Subject
  • Keyword

Use the box on the left to limit results to a specific format (such as electronic book) or location (Shimberg Health Sciences Library)  or to select a particular topic or genre. 

How do I find a journal article on my topic?

1. Decide on the subject for which you want to locate articles.

The more specific the topic is, the more relevant the results you will retrieve. For example, search the phrase low back pain not just pain.

2. Choose a Database appropriate for your subject.

PubMed, EMBASE, CINAHL, and Web of Science are all databases containing medical, nursing, and public health article citations.

To select the best database for your discipline, consult your discipline-specific guides for the appropriate area.

If you are uncertain how to choose the best database, make an appointment with one of the Shimberg Reference Librarians.

3. Search the Database for articles on your subject.

For database-specific tips on how to use a particular database, look for help within the database or consult the Resource Tutorials.

Some databases allow you to limit your search to peer-reviewed articles. 

Review the article abstracts to determine if the article is appropriate to answer your research question.

4. Retrieve the full-text for articles that look promising

Some databases may already have a link to the full text of the article you require. Look for a full text, PDF, or HTML link to view the full copy of the article online. If none of these are available, use look for Find It At USF to check the USF Libraries collection.

5. If you are unable to find the full-text in the USF Libraries Collection, request an Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad). 

Plan ahead! It may take up to a week to 10 days to obtain the article through Interlibrary Loan.

 

How do I retrieve the full-text of a specific article? 

If the journal article you are looking for is in print, you will find journals shelved alphabetically on the 2nd floor of the library.  

If the journal article is online, follow these steps:

If you need further assistance call the Shimberg Library at (813) 974-8432 or make an appointment to consult with a Reference Librarian. 

How do I find a book?

PRINT BOOKS: Print books are located on the first floor of the Shimberg Health Sciences Library and are arranged by subject with call numbers according the National Library of Medicine classification system.

ELECTRONIC BOOKS: You can find e-books in the library catalog.

How do I find a journal?

PRINT JOURNALS: All the print journals are located on the 2nd floor of the library and are organized alphabetically by title. Both bound and unbound journals are shelved together.

ELECTRONIC JOURNALS: Some journal titles and issues also may be available electronically.  Search for the full journal title in the Library Catalog and check the USF E-Journal collection.

Loading