A good place to start looking for quality philosophy resources. Please contact Susan Ariew if you have suggested resources for this guide.
- Philosopher's Index
The Philosopher's Index is a bibliographic database with informative, author-written abstracts covering scholarly research in all areas of philosophy. The literature covered goes back to 1940 and includes journal articles, books, book chapters such as contributions to an anthology, and book reviews.
- Poesis/Philosophy Online Journals
This new collection includes 67 subscribed journal titles, many of which were not available electronically.
- JSTOR Philosophy
When you click on this link, scroll down and check the box next to "Philosophy" to search the 57 titles in this collection. Provides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected philosophy journals. This database does not give you current articles from the most recent five years.
- Project Muse
Launched in 1995 to provide full-text access to all journals published by the Johns Hopkins University Press, it was later expanded to other presses and now publishes over 250 titles online. Disciplines covered include the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.
- L'Annee philologique
Provides indexing and brief abstracts to articles and conference papers in the classics. All records are classified in a two-part system: ancient authors and texts, subjects and disciplines. The format of the bibliographical references conforms as closely as possible to that of the printed volumes.
- Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.
- Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
The Stanford encyclopedia of philosophy is a pioneer as a reference work. It is an open access (freely available to the world) work that is authoritative, peer-reviewed, and continually updated. Its entries are created and maintained by hundreds of experts from the international philosophy community. The Stanford encyclopedia of philosophy is the premier source of information about philosophy on the web.