LibGuides: Hospitality and Tourism: Statistics

Statistics

Bureau of Labor Statistics
The Bureau of Labor Statistics of the U.S. Department of Labor is the principal Federal agency responsible for measuring labor market activity, working conditions, and price changes in the economy.
See sub sectors: Accommodations & Food Services - NAICS 72; Accommodations - NAICS 721; Food & Drinking Places - NAICS 722
Census Business Builder
Access Census data on markets, including customer populations and types of businesses within defined geographies.

SimplyAnalytics [Create an individual account for both on- and off-campus access] This link opens in a new window
SimplyAnalytics is a mapping, analytics, and data visualization application with 100,000+ data variables, including: demographic data from the US Decennial Census and the American Community Survey (ACS), consumer spending data from the Consumer Expenditure Survey (CEX), and D&B's Premium business directory providing access to over 30 million detailed US business profiles. Additionally, the premium MRI-SimmonsLOCAL consumer behavior dataset includes data on over 8,000 brands, lifestyle statements, social media habits, and more. Claritas PRIZM Premier provides users with a marketing & lifestyle segmentation system to help identify, understand, and target their customers and prospects. Data is largely available down to the Census Block Group level, and custom locations can be created. Users are not required to log-in with a user name and password, however, their work will not be saved using this method (clicking on "Sign in as a guest"). In order to save their work, users need to create an individual account for both on- and off-campus access.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista is a leading provider of market and consumer data. Statista provides access to statistics and forecasts on 80,000 different topics from more than 22,500 sources.
Sage Data [formerly Data-Planet Statistical Datasets] This link opens in a new window
Sage Data (formerly Data-Planet Statistical Datasets) is a web-based research solutions tool that provides fast and easy access to data from licensed and public domain datasets. It provides easy access to an extensive repository of standardized and structured statistical data. The Data-Planet repository contains more than 90 billion data points from more than 70 source organizations. The over two billion time series in Data-Planet provide immediate access to data presented in charts, maps, graphs, and table form, via multiple points of entry. There are up to 2 billion charts, maps, views, rankings, time series and tables available for use in the Data-Planet repository. All of the data have been standardized and structured, and described with up to 37 fields of metadata, including a controlled vocabulary. -- To access this database, your computer must have Java Virtual Machine (JVM) 1.4.2 or later.