Here are some links to the best resources!
This unit works in conjunction with many departments and anthropology and archaeaology both utilize this service.
We are a Research and Education Support Unit in the School of Geosciences, College of Arts and Sciences, at the University of South Florida. Our goal is to create interdisciplinary approaches to research and curriculum that involves 3D technologies and visualizations. We have particular research interest in preserving and protecting the world's cultural and natural heritage through education and global engagement.
Addressing Global Challenges
- through the conservation and digital preservation of the world's cultural and natural heritage
- Supporting USF Researchers - through national and international projects using advanced spatial technologies
Use the following online databases to search for article, conference proceedings, and other materials from journals, books and other sources. If you don't find the full text of an item you need, please contact a librarian using the information this this page.
- Anthropology Plus
Anthropology plus is the world's most comprehensive, focused index of bibliographic materials from the late 1800s to today in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology; ethnology, archaeology, folklore, and material culture; and interdisciplinary studies. Beyond these disciplines, researchers and scholars in art history, demography, economics, genetics, geography, geology, history, psychology, religion, or sociology will all find relevant anthropological material.
- AccessScience: McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology Online
Full access to 7100+ articles, 115,000 dictionary terms, and hundreds of Research Updates in all areas of science and technology updated daily. Also includes over 2000 biographies of leading scientists, weekly updates of breakthroughs and discoveries in science and technology, a science dictionary, and links to related websites.
BioOne aggregates over eighty high impact bioscience research journals. Most of BioOne's titles are published by small societies and non-commercial publishers, and, until now, have been available only in printed form. BioOne journals focus on the biological, ecological and environmental sciences. Articles are available in both HTML and PDF formats. For each journal, BioOne presents the full texts of all peer-reviewed papers and all corresponding tables, graphics and illustrations. For most journals, new issues will be posted to the site before printed copies are produced. From the outset, BioOne includes volumes from 2000 forward. As the back years grow annually, they will remain electronically archived and accessible.
- Annual Review of Anthropology
The Annual Review of Anthropology, in publication since 1972, covers significant developments in the subfields of Anthropology, including archaeology, biological anthropology, linguistics and communicative practices, regional studies and international anthropology, and sociocultural anthropology.
- Google Scholar
Google Scholar from the Library Home Page allows access of materials available to USF users. Includes materials from our databases, allows citation export to RefWorks and Endnotes.
- Alexander Street Anthropology- Ethnographic Video Online
Videos in many languages, with the majority in English; those not in English have subtitles in English. Transcripts in English.
Summary: Intended to be a visual encyclopedia of human behavior and culture, online in streaming video. Contains classic and contemporary documentaries; previously unpublished footage from working anthropologists and ethnographers in the field; and select feature films. Includes footage from every continent and hundreds of unique cultures. Thematic areas include: language and culture, kinesthetics, body language, food and foraging, cooking, economic systems, social stratification and status, caste systems and slavery, male and female roles, kinship and families, political organization, conflict and conflict resolution, religion and magic, music and the arts, culture and personality, and sex, gender, and family roles. Users may browse the collection by subject, time period, event, person, location, etc., and may create custom clips and playlists.
While these may not appear to be anthropology titles, these are some of the best general key resources covering multidisciplinary areas in large numbers of scholarly and popular press titles. Anthropology is well represented in these resources and should not be overlooked because of their non-specific sounding titles.
- Academic Search Premier
Academic search premier, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's largest scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for nearly 4,650 serials, including more than 3,600 peer-reviewed publications. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 8,200 journals in the collection. This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study including: computer science, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles. The majority of full text titles are available in searchable PDF, or scanned-in-color. This database is updated on a daily basis. 1975-
- Web of Science
Science citation index expanded; Social sciences citation index; Arts & humanities citation index
Description: The ISI Web of Science provides seamless access to the Science Citation Expanded®, Social Sciences Citation Index®, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index™. It enables users to search current and r etrospective multidisciplinary information from approximately 8,500 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world. ISI Web of Science also provides a unique search method, cited reference searching. With it, users can navigate forward, backward, and through the literature, searching all disciplines and time spans to uncover all the information relevant to their research. Users can also navigate to electronic full-text journal articles
- Wilson Omnifile Full Text Mega Edition
Wilson omniFile full text, mega edition is a multi-disciplinary database providing the complete content-- indexing, abstracts, and full text--from six of Wilson's full-text databases: Education full text, General science full text, Humanities full text, Readers' guide full text, Social sciences full text, and Wilson business full text.
Full-text articles from five additional periodical databases are also included when available: Applied science & technology full text, Art full text, Biological & agricultural index, Index to legal periodicals & books, and Library literature & information science full text.
Indexing begins in 1982, abstracts in 1984, and full-text coverage in 1994. Each database has its own start dates for indexing, abstracting, and full text; start dates for full-text rights to individual journals vary within a database.
Full-text articles from five additional periodical databases are also included when available: Applied Science & Technology Full Text, A
- LexisNexis Academic
Research areas in LEXIS-NEXIS Academic Universe cover news,industry, and market news; legal news and research; company financial information; general medical topics ; accounting, auditing, and tax information; law reviews; case law; U.S. Code.
- IEEE Xplore
Anthropology articles with emphasis on the use of technology. Subject areas include forensic, cultural, ethnological, and medical areas to name a few.
Provides full-text access to IEEE transactions, IEEE and IEE journals, magazines, and conference proceedings published since 1988, and all current IEEE standards; brings additional search and access features to IEEE/IEE electronic library users
This is a browsable library and a brief search using "anthropology" brought up 289 titles.
Anthropology articles with emphasis on the use of technology. Subject areas include forensic, cultural, ethnological, and medical areas to name a few. Top subjects : Society and social sciences
Humanities Economics, finance, business and management , The arts, Law, Literature and literary studies, Language, Earth sciences, geography, environment, plannings, and History.
- EVIA -Ethnographic Video for Instruction and Analysis/b>
The EVIA Digital Archive Project is a collaborative endeavor to create a digital archive of ethnographic field video for use by scholars and instructors.The primary mission of the EVIA Project is to preserve ethnographic field video created by scholars as part of their research. The secondary mission is to make those materials available in conjunction with rich, descriptive annotations, creating a unique resource for scholars, instructors, and students.
- Penn Museum
The University of Pennsylvania Museum of Archaeology and Anthropology is dedicated to the study and understanding of human history and diversity. Founded in 1887,