Skip to Main Content

Data Management Planning

This site contains information to help researchers create a solid data management plan for external funding requirements including NSF proposals.

Data Repositories

This is a select list of data repositories that researchers may wish to consult or include in a data management plan. The listed repositories accept data submissions from unaffiliated researchers. For more extensive coverage, re3data.org is a comprehensive and searchable database of online data repositories.

Digital Commons @ University of South Florida
The repository is a service of the University of South Florida libraries. Research and scholarly output included here has been selected and deposited by the individual university departments and centers on campus.
Data Repositories from simmons.edu OAD
This list is part of the Open Access Directory (OAD) from simmons.edu
Data Repository Guidance
Suggested data repositories list from Nature.com
re3data.org
Registry of research data repositories.

Links

Geosciences

DataONE
A community driven project providing access to data across multiple member repositories, supporting enhanced search and discovery of Earth and environmental data.
Goddard Earth Sciences Data & Information Services Center
An archive of Earth science data, information, and services.
GSA Data Repository
An open file in which authors can place information that supplements and expands on their article.
IRI Data Library
A database of vital climate and social science metrics.
National Geoscience Data Centre (UK)
A collection of geoscientific data and information available to a wide range of users and communities.
NOAA Database
The world’s largest provider of weather and climate data.
PANGAEA
Data publisher for Earth & Environmental Science.
RRUFF
An integrated database of Raman spectra, X-ray diffraction and chemistry data for minerals.

Life Sciences

The Cell Image Library
A public repository of reviewed and annotated images, videos, and animations of cells from a variety of organisms, showcasing cell architecture, intracellular functionalities, and both normal and abnormal processes.
Digital Morphology
A dynamic archive of information on digital morphology and high-resolution X-ray computed tomography of biological specimens.
Dryad Digital Repository
A general-purpose resource for a wide diversity of datatypes.
RCSB Protein Data Bank
An archive about the 3D shapes of proteins, nucleic acids, and complex assemblies that helps students and researchers understand all aspects of biomedicine and agriculture, from protein synthesis to health and disease.

Marine Sciences

Biological & Chemical Oceanography Data Management Office
Biological and chemical oceanography data repositories.
Gulf of Mexico Research Institute (GRIIDC)
A data management system to store scientific data generated by Gulf of Mexico researchers.
Marine Geoscience Data System
Tools and services for free public access to marine geoscience research data acquired throughout the global oceans and adjoining continental margins.
National Centers for Environmental Information
The world's largest collection of freely available oceanographic data
National Coastal Data Development Center
Comprehensive archive on coastal data.
NOAA Coral Reef Information System
Provides access to NOAA coral reef information and data products with emphasis on the U.S. states, territories and remote island areas.

Social Sciences

History Data Service
A collection of digital resources that support historical research, learning and teaching.
ICPSR
Public-use files with no access restrictions.