This is the "Key Sources" page of the "Africana Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Africana Studies   Tags: africana_studies, cas, social_science  

Last Updated: Aug 16, 2012 URL: http://guides.lib.usf.edu/Africana-Studies Print Guide Email Alerts

Key Sources Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Research Rescue

Merilyn Burke

Profile Image
Merilyn Burke
 

Get Librarian Help

Key Sources

These are some of the important databases for Africana Studies. However the "Related Databases" are also a rich source of materials to be explored and used in your research.

  • ALUKA
    The liberation of Southern Africa was one of the major political developments of the 20th century. The demise of Portuguese colonial rule, the end of white settler domination, and the dismantling of the apartheid regime had far-reaching consequences not only for the people in the region but for the global community. The Struggles for Freedom content area, launched in June 2007, focuses on the complex and varied liberation struggles in the region, with an initial concentration on six nations
  • Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports
    Readex (newsbank) Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports Including the publication series titles Middle East & Africa, Middle East & North Africa, Near East & South Asia Africa (Sub-Sahara), South Asia, Sub-Saharan Africa . Covers 1974-1996.
  • Notable Black American Men. Book II
    Notable Black American Men, Book II is a comprehensive and relevant source of hard-to-find information on African American Men of achievement. It profiles contemporary and historic figures covering the most remarkable newsmakers as well as lesser-known individuals. It features full biographical entries, 400 photographs, and addresses for individuals whenever applicable. It also provides recommended sources for further study. It represents virtually every field of endeavor.
  • OAPEN
    OAPEN (Open Access Publishing in European Networks) is a collaborative initiative to develop and implement a sustainable Open Access publication model for academic books in the Humanities and Social Sciences. The OAPEN Library aims to improve the visibility and usability of high quality academic research by aggregating peer reviewed Open Access publications from across Europe.
  • Academic Search Premier  
      
    Academic search premier, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's largest scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for nearly 4,650 serials, including more than 3,600 peer-reviewed publications. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 8,200 journals in the collection. This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study .
  • African American Biographical Database (1790-1950)
    Biographical information on African Americans, includes Black Biographical Dictionaries dating from 1790 to 1950. There are obituary files, slave narrative collections, photographs, and illustrations.
    Users may search by name, date or place of birth, occupation, religion, or gender. Records include short sketches and longer biographical essays, as well as numerous illustrations and photographs.
  • African American Poetry Database (1750-1900)
    African-American Poetry contains nearly 3,000 poems by African-American poets of the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries.
  • African American Song
    African American Song is the first online resource to document the history of African American music in an online music listening service. The collection contains a diverse range of genres such as jazz, blues, gospel, ragtime, folk songs, and narratives, among others.
    This release features some 16,000 tracks of great historical recordings from Document Records. This great collection features recordings from the first half of the 20th century.
  • Black Drama: 1850 to present  
      
    Black Drama : 1850 to present contains the full text of 1,200 plays written from the mid-1800s to the present by more than 150 playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries. Many of the works are rare, hard to find, or out of print. Nearly a quarter of the collection consists of previously unpublished plays by writers such as Langston Hughes, Ed Bullins, David Edgecombe, Willis Richardson, Amiri Baraka, Randolph Edmonds.
  • Chicago Defender 1910-1975
    A Proquest historical newspaper providing access to first hand materials in the African American Community from 1910-1975
  • Ethnic NewsWatch
    A full-text collection of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. A rich collection of articles, editorials, columns, reviews, etc. provide a broad diversity of perspectives and viewpoints -- the other sides of the stories. Free text searching and complete indexing makes Ethnic NewsWatch easy to search.
  • International Index to Black Periodicals
    "IIBP full text includes current and retrospective bibliographic citations and abstracts from over 150 scholarly and popular journals, newspapers and newsletters from the United States, Africa and the Caribbean--and full-text coverage of 25 core Black studies periodicals (1998 forward) . Coverage is international in scope and multidisciplinary--spanning cultural, economic, historical, religious, social, and political issues of vital importance to the Black studies discipline."
  • New York Amsterdam News 1922-1993
    A Proquest Historical Newspaper providing genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, searchable first-hand accounts and coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.

 

Featured Sources

 New York Historical Society- Manuscripts Collections Relating to Slavery

 

The collections include 2 million manuscripts, 500,000 photographs, 400,000 prints, 350,000 books and pamphlets, 150,000 architectural drawings, 20,000 broadsides, 15,000 printed maps, 10,000 newspapers and 10,000 dining menus. Among the historic icons are manuscript maps drawn by George Washington’s cartographers in the field, Robert Erskine and Simeon DeWitt (1778-1783); Napoleon’s authorization for the Louisiana Purchase (1803); and Grant’s handwritten terms of surrender to Lee (1865).

 


IIBP Full Text(International Index to Black Periodicals) draws its current content from international scholarly and popular periodicals in Black Studies and contains full-text coverage of core Black Studies periodicals.

 

African American Song is the first online resource to document the history of African American music in an online music listening service. The collection contains a diverse range of genres such as jazz, blues, gospel, ragtime, folk songs, and narratives, among others. Ex:  Strutter's Ball

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip