Africana Studies

Current and retrospective bibliographic citations and abstracts from both scholarly and popular journals, newspapers, and newsletters from the US, Africa, and the Caribbean. Coverage: 1900-present.

Abstracts, citations, and some full text for core journals in anthropology, economics, geography, criminology, political science, social work, and sociology. Full text coverage: 1995-present.

A full-text collection of newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Contemporary collection spans 1990-present, and the historical collection, Ethnic NewsWatch: A History™, spans 1959-1989.

Digitized copies of Florida's largest African American newspaper.

online, cover-to-cover version of the Chicago Defender from 1909 to 1975

Comprehensive index of bibliographic materials in social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology. Coverage: 1880s-present.

Citations and full-text articles from scholarly sources and specialized magazines. Citation index covers 1984 to present; full text coverage begins in 1995.

Search this database for information in the humanities and social sciences as far back as 1907. Coverage ends in 1984.

Still haven't found what you're looking for? Click here for more resources.

An index to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Covers over 2,000 journals published worldwide (over 90% in the English-language) and 6,000 citations of book and media reviews and abstracts of dissertations.

Multidisciplinary full-text database with peer reviewed journals, magazines and other resources from 1975 forward.

A simple way to search for scholarly literature. Includes full text and citations. Searching while signed in to the USF Library website can grant wider access to full text.