USF Home | USF Directory | myUSF

Research ToolsGuidesLibrary ServicesSpecial CollectionsHelpAbout

ISS 4935: Senior Seminar in Interdisciplinary Social Sciences

Welcome!

Welcome to the course guide for ISS 4935.

This guide is your portal to research at the USF Tampa Library.

Step 1: Use Multidisciplinary databases

Find It! is a discovery tool that allows you to search for everything at once: books, e-books journals, and more. 

Web of Science covers more than 12,000 journals in all subject areas

Academic Search Premier  is a scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for nearly 4,650 serials, including more than 3,600 peer-reviewed publications.

Google Scholar  includes indexing and some full text access to scholarly journals, pre-prints, post-prints, dissertations, book citations, technical reports. Note: Use Google Scholar for quick access to articles when you already have a citation.

JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources in a variety of disciplines

Step 2: Find articles using subject specific databases:

Finding articles based on a subject or topic is simplified by using our databases. Often databases are discipline based, only indexing journals relevant to certain academic fields. An excellent database relevant for all social science disciplines is Social Sciences Full Text.

If you already have a citation for an article, you can check our electronic holdings of the journal by going to the e-journal link on the library homepage.  Enter in the title of the journal and the electronic holdings will be displayed.  Check the catalog for print holdings.

​Step 3: Find books:

To locate books at the USF Tampa Library check the library catalog. You may also browse the library by subject area.  The library follows the Library of Congress Classification system. 


Evaluating Your Sources