Research Databases

More help

Gary L. Austin
R&I Librarian
glaustin@usf.edu

AMH 3201 - U.S. History 1877-1914: St. Petersburg (Hauser)

USF Library Catalog

The USF Library Catalog
Find items owned by all USF Tampa campuses. Use the terms "personal narrative" (in quotes to search for diaries, journals, and memoirs. Use the term 'correspondence' to search for letter.

To request and item from another campus go to https://lib.usf.edu/ill.

HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new window
HathiTrust is a partnership of major research institutions and libraries working to ensure that the cultural record is preserved and accessible long into the future. The mission of HathiTrust is to contribute to research, scholarship, and the common good by collaboratively collecting, organizing, preserving, communicating, and sharing the record of human knowledge. There are more than 120 partners in HathiTrust, and membership is open to institutions worldwide. -- Some books require a partner login for full access or whole book download. Login with your USF NetID, after selecting USF as your partner institution.
WorldCat [OCLC FirstSearch] This link opens in a new window
WorldCat database is the OCLC online union catalog. It contains over 50 million biblliographic records describing resources cataloged by OCLC member libraries around the world. -- Simultaneous Users: Unlimited

Journal Articles

America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
An index to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Covers over 2,000 journals published worldwide (over 90% in the English-language) and 6,000 citations of book and media reviews and abstracts of dissertations.

Find Primary Sources on the Internet

Try searching the internet for digital collections at state historical societies, archives, museums, and universities. many of the sites have been digitizing historical materials and making them available online.

Try searching your topic and the keyword 'archives,' 'digital', or other term.

If you know of a site, you can try using Google's 'site search' capability to search for items within that site. For example, typing this search into Google will give you a list of materials in the USF Digital collection concerning Tampa's Fort Brooke.

site:digitalcommons.usf.edu "fort brooke"

You can also use the 'filetype' search to find specific types of documents

memoir "fort brooke' filetype:pdf

map "fort brooke' filetype:jpeg