AMH 3270 - The United States Since 1945: St. Petersburg (Hauser)

America’s Historical Newspapers includes thousands of titles from all 50 states chronicling the evolution of American culture and society through eyewitness reporting, editorials, letters, advertisements, obituaries, and much more. Available here: African American Newspapers Series 1, 1827-1998; African American Newspapers Series 2, 1835-1956; Caribbean Newspapers, 1718-1876; Early American Newspapers, Series 1: From Colonies to Nation; Early American Newspapers, Series 15: Immigrant Communities; Early American Newspapers, Series 18: Racial Awakening in the Northeast; Early American Newspapers, Series 19: Southern Newspapers, the Politics of Race in the South; Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980. -- Simultaneous Users: Unlimited

The digital Archive of Americana is a family of comprehensive historical collections that allows researchers to discover and explore the United States in depth and detail. The unique primary source materials offer opportunities for students and scholars to make original discoveries and new findings on nearly every aspect of the United States over nearly three centuries. The Archive allows full-text searching of four sources: - America's Historical Imprints (Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800); - America's Historical Newspapers (Early American Newspapers, Series I: 1690-1876); - American State Papers, 1789-1838; - U.S. Congressional Serial Set. -- Simultaneous Users: Unlimited

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: U.S. State Collections empower researchers to become eyewitnesses to local and regional history. From leading issues and events, like wars, immigration, industrial developments, and race relations; to international, local and regional politics, these collections reveal state and local news coverage valued by researchers. Each title includes the complete paper, cover-to-cover, with full-page images in PDF format. For newspapers still publishing, coverage extends to within days of the current issue.

This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. -- Simultaneous Users: Unlimited

Gale Primary Sources combines Gale's digital humanities and social sciences archives in a single cross-search interface, providing access to millions of pages of content spanning many centuries and geographic regions. Users can explore a wide range of content including monographs, manuscripts, newspapers, photographs, maps, and more in the following databases: - 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection - 19th Century UK Periodicals - Archives Unbound - British Library Newspapers - The Economist Historical Archive, 1843-2011 - Eighteenth Century Collections Online - The Illustrated London News Historical Archives, 1842-2003 - Nineteenth Century Collections Online - Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers - The Sunday Times Digital Archive - The Times Digital Archive - Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive - Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive.

History Vault provides access to primary source, cross-searchable, full-text/full-image documents on the most widely studied topics in 19th and 20th-century American history.
USF has perpetual access to the following collections:
- Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Federal Government Records
- Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Organizational Records and Personal Papers, Part 1
- Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Organizational Records and Personal Papers, Part 2
- NAACP Papers: The NAACP's Major Campaigns--Education, Voting, Housing, Employment, Armed Forces
- NAACP Papers: The NAACP's Major Campaigns--Scottsboro, Anti-Lynching, Criminal Justice, Peonage, Labor, and Segregation and Discrimination Complaints and Responses
- Slavery, the Slave Trade, and Law and Order in 19th Century America (1636-1880)
- Women at Work during World War II: Rosie the Riveter and the Women's Army Corps
- Office of Strategic Services (OSS)-State Department Intelligence and Research Reports, 1941-1961
- Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, Africa and Middle East, 1960-1969
- Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, Asia, 1960-1969
- Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, Europe and Latin America, 1960-1969

Music, Politics, Fashion, Youth Culture – the period from 1950 to 1975 witnessed dramatic changes in society. There was the onset of Rock & Roll; the introduction of computers and credit cards; the boom of radio and television; and campaigns for black power, civil rights and women’s liberation. All around the world there were challenges to authority. The resource allows users to study this exciting period using manuscript and rare printed material as well as photographs, ephemera and memorabilia. The interactive chronology, extensive visual resources and video footage provide valuable contextual background to the materials included in this collection.

JSTOR (www.jstor.org) is a not-for-profit organization with a dual mission to create and maintain a trusted archive of important scholarly journals, and to provide access to these journals as widely as possible. Content in JSTOR spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. USF has access to the following collections: Arts & Sciences I - XV Collections, Business IV Collection, Ecology & Botany II Collection, Ireland Collection, Life Sciences Collection, and Sustainability Extension. For more information on these collection, please refer to https://about.jstor.org/librarians/journals/multi-discipline/. -- Simultaneous Users: Unlimited

An index to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Covers over 2,000 journals published worldwide (over 90% in the English-language) and 6,000 citations of book and media reviews and abstracts of dissertations.

HathiTrust is a partnership of major research institutions and libraries working to ensure that the cultural record is preserved and accessible long into the future. The mission of HathiTrust is to contribute to research, scholarship, and the common good by collaboratively collecting, organizing, preserving, communicating, and sharing the record of human knowledge. There are more than 120 partners in HathiTrust, and membership is open to institutions worldwide. -- Some books require a partner login for full access or whole book download. Login with your USF NetID, after selecting USF as your partner institution.

Performing Arts Periodicals Database [formerly The International Index to Performing Arts (IIPA)] is a comprehensive index to the journal literature of performing arts drama, theatre, dance, film television and more searchable together for the first time in one electronic database. IIPA is a new and dynamic bibliographic resource for the performing arts information and research community. IIPA not only provides access to over 180 performing arts periodicals from 1998 onward, it also provides retrospective access to many selected titles--some all the way back to their inception. A complementary resource to Chadwyck-Healeys International Index to Music Periodicals (IIMP), IIPA covers the broadest range of journals, both scholarly and popular, and combines the highest-quality indexing with a superior search engine and interface. IIPA provides many important advantages to performing arts librarians, bibliographers, researchers, teachers, and students. Currency: contains over 40,000 records from 1998 onward. Abstracts: every IIPA citation from 1998 onward contains an abstract. Thesaurus: controlled indexing; every IIPA citation from 1998 onward contains indexing from our hierarchical thesaurus of concept terms. Broad journal coverage: enables both graduate and undergraduate level research, as well as query handling in the public library setting Multidisciplinary coverage: including film, drama, dance, stagecraft, broadcast arts, circus performance, comedy, storytelling, and more. Retrospective coverage: citations for 100,000 retrospective articles. -- Simultaneous Users: 2 Users

This electronic resource is a collection of primary source documents within the larger database of Archives Unbound. Covering the years 1933-1943, this collection contains over 37,000 digitized images of the publications of the Federal Writers Project (FWP) of all 47 states involved in the project. The Federal Writers Project (FWP) was the most controversial and contentious program of the Work Projects Administration (WPA), an integral part of Franklin D. Roosevelts "New Deal." This unique collection of the publications of the FWP provides scholars with an extremely lively and detailed picture of life in America during the Great Depression. The publications in this collection are extremely rare and cover almost every aspect of life from Industry and Labor Relations, through Welfare and Government, to Sports and Hobbies. Within the database, images can be cropped, highlighted, rotated, resized, and two images can be compared side-by-side. Results can be downloaded as PDF, printed, emailed, or exported to bibliographic management software like Endnote and Refworks. -- Simultaneous Users: Unlimited

Music, Politics, Fashion, Youth Culture – the period from 1950 to 1975 witnessed dramatic changes in society. There was the onset of Rock & Roll; the introduction of computers and credit cards; the boom of radio and television; and campaigns for black power, civil rights and women’s liberation. All around the world there were challenges to authority. The resource allows users to study this exciting period using manuscript and rare printed material as well as photographs, ephemera and memorabilia. The interactive chronology, extensive visual resources and video footage provide valuable contextual background to the materials included in this collection.