MAR 4824: Marketing Management Problems: St. Petersburg
Profile
Guides to Business Research
Research on Main Street by ISBN: 9780910965880Publication Date: 2011-04-01In today's global economy, businesses need targeted, localized information about customers, companies, and industries, but adding the element of geography to any search topic--especially for counties, cities, census blocks, or any other substate areas--makes any project more challenging. Aimed at tackling these issues head-on, this guide offers free and low-cost options for using the web to find business and market information about various places, usually on the substate geographic level. Revealing how to use local sources for more in-depth research into people, companies, and national issues, this resource offers a manageable structure for how to approach this type of research, key resources, and practical solutions to specific questions. Each chapter includes valuable "Tips from the Pros," short sections spotlighting expert researchers' advice for finding information about local demographics, economies, companies, people, and issues. A companion website can be found at www.ResearchOnMainStreet.com.
North American Industrial Classification (NAICS)
- NAICS ManualUsed by Federal agencies to classify businesses and collecting data. Many business databases allow you to use a NAICS code when researching industries.
- SIC (Standard Industrial Classification) CodeAlthough replaced by NAICS some databases still allow searching by SIC code.
Directories & Company Information
- Mergent IntellectInformation on public and private companies together with consumer data and business directory information.
Market Research
- IBISWorldIndustry research and analysis including risk ratings and procurement reports.
- Mintel Oxygen (Mintel Academic)Database covering U.S. and European markets. Includes reports, forecasts, and other analytical tools to track consumer habits and attitudes within the competitive landscape.
- MarketResearch.com AcademicFull-text market research reports. Includes current and historical information.
- Business Source PremierFull text articles from journals and magazines covering business subjects including accounting, finance, economics, marketing, MIS, and operations management, spanning from 1886 to the present.
Trade Associations
Trade associations can be a good source of news and statistics about a particular industry. One way to look for a trade association is by going to a search engine like Google or Bing and searching for the name of the industry and the keywords trade association. You can also use the following library resources to find relevant associations.
- Encyclopedia of Associations This link opens in a new windowCombines data from the entire Encyclopedia of Associations series and includes additional IRS information on nonprofit organizations, for a total of more than 456,000 organizations. It is an indispensable source for: locating national, international and local associations; monitoring association trends; identifying related associations; networking and making professional contacts; marketing to associations, their members and markets; and so much more. -- Five search methods are available for easy-searching: Simple Searches enable searching by name or acronym, geographic location, and subject/SIC/free-text; Custom Search allows multiple-field searching; fields include name, subject/SIC, geographic location, publications, meetings, year founded, and budget; Expert Search allows experienced users to perform multiple-field searches using field abbreviations with Boolean operators; IRS Data on Nonprofits Search provides Custom Search interface with fields such as name, location, asset amount, foundation type, and activity type
- Business Insights: EssentialsCompany and industry profiles, SWOT reports, and market share and financial reports covering consumer goods, energy, financial services, healthcare, technology, telecoms, e-commerce, and human resources.
Journals - Peer reviewed and Academic
Along with the journal databases in the Articles tab, you may find the following databases useful.
- ABI/INFORM Collection [formerly ABI/INFORM Complete] This link opens in a new windowThis database comprises ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline. The database features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key newspapers such as The Wall Street Journal and The Financial Times, as well as country-and industry-focused reports and data. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world. -- Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
- Business Source PremierFull text articles from journals and magazines covering business subjects including accounting, finance, economics, marketing, MIS, and operations management, spanning from 1886 to the present.
Data & Statistics
- Explore Census DataFormerly American Factfinder. Source for the latest data from the U.S. Census Bureau.
- Statistical Abstract of the United StatesThe Statistical Abstract of the United States was the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. This site provides links to each annual edition from 1878 until the Census Bureau stopped publishing the title in 2012.
- State Data CentersFind the Census Bureau's Data Center for your State
News - Business Resources
- Wall Street Journal (1984-current)U.S.-based international newspaper with a focus on business and economics. Coverage: 1984-present.
- ABI/INFORM GlobalIn-depth coverage of business and management trends, practices, theory and tactics. Mostly full text publications with coverage from 1855 forward.
- Tampa Bay Business JournalIncludes some of the week's top stories from the Tampa Bay Business Journal as well as a weekly feature on small business enterprise.
News - General Resources
- Access World NewsFull text news from national and international sources including specific information about local companies, politics, sports, industries and culture.
- Nexis UniFull text news, industry and market news, legal news and research, company financial information and general medical topics from 1987 forward.