Your Librarian
Search Tips
Searching for Articles on a Topic
DEFINING YOUR TOPIC
If you would like to search for articles on a topic your first have to choose which database to search. You can find a list of business-related journal databases in our Business Resources Research Guide.
After choosing your database, think about your topic and what keywords you may want to use in your search. For example, let's say you wanted to find articles on how information is used by people in marketing. You have two basic concepts you're looking for: Information Use and People who work in Marketing. Think about possible combinations of these concepts:
| Information | Marketing | Very Broad |
| Information Use | Marketers | Better |
| Information Use | Marketing Professionals | Perhaps even Better |
| Information Needs | Marketing Professionals | Related Topics |
When you get some terms ready you can try a search.
Ejournal Search Tool
Searches
Business Source Premier
Business Source Premier is a good, all-around database that provides access to variety of content, including journals, newspapers, trade publications SWOT analyses, industry reports, and more. You can limit your search by company name or NAICS code. You can also set up alerts to let you know if new information is published on your company or topic.
ABI/INFORM Global
Most scholarly and comprehensive way to explore and understand business research topics. Search nearly 1800 worldwide business periodicals for in-depth coverage of business and economic conditions, management techniques, theory, and practice of business, advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers, and more. Expanded international coverage. Fast access to information on 60,000 + companies with business and executive profiles.
PsycINFO (EBSCO)
Considered by many to be the key database for locating scholarly materials related to psychology.
ScienceDirect
Collection of journals published by Elsevier