IDS 2378-Critical Thinking: Foundations of Interdisciplinary Knowledge and Inquiry- St. Petersburg Campus
Subject Guides
Your subject liaison librarian has created a subject guide for every subject taught at USF. You can find subject specific databases, articles, books and search topics for your discipline here.
Locating Scholarly Articles and More with USF Quicksearch
Using Individual Databases
Using the Find it function is a great way to look at many of the resources the library has all at once. If you want to look for subject specific articles (as your assignment requires) it can help to use a subject specific database. We have listed some the subject specific databases we have below by subject area but you can find even more databases on the A-Z database page. Once on that page you can search by subject area
STEM
- Web of Science [formerly Web of Knowledge]The ISI Web of Science provides seamless access to the Science Citation Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. It enables users to search current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from approximately 8,500 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world. ISI Web of Science also provides a unique search method, cited reference searching.
- BioOneOnline access to high impact bioscience research journals, with an emphasis on the biological, ecological and environmental sciences.
- Access ScienceHigh quality reference material covering all major scientific disciplines. Includes articles, definitions, biographies, images, videos and citations.
- SpringerLinkFull-text journals, books, and reference materials in the hard and natural sciences.
- AMS Journals (American Mathematical Society)Full-text access to selected journals published by the American Mathematical Society.
Social Sciences
- Social Sciences Full TextAbstracts, citations, and some full text for core journals in anthropology, economics, geography, criminology, political science, social work, and sociology. Full text coverage: 1995-present.
- Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts (ASSIA)Indexing and abstracting tool covering health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education.
- Anthropology PlusComprehensive index of bibliographic materials in social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology. Coverage: 1880s-present.
- Criminal Justice AbstractsThis database includes indexing and abstracts of journals, books, reports, dissertations, and unpublished papers on criminology and related disciplines. Coverage: 1968-present.
- Political Science DatabaseThis database gives users access to hundreds of leading political science and international relations journals, providing full-text of many core titles indexed in Worldwide Political Science Abstracts. In addition, over a thousand recent full-text doctoral dissertations on political science topics are included, together with working papers, conference proceedings, country profiles, political news and other sources. Coverage: 1985 - current
- ERIC (EBSCO)ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education and provides extensive access to education-related literature. Coverage: 1966-current.
- APA PsycInfoSelect full-text coverage of professional, academic literature in psychology and related disciplines. 1800's to present, with most materials published in the 20th and 21st centuries.
Health Professions
- PubMedCitation index for literature in the biomedical and life sciences fields dating back to the 1950s. Some citations link to full-text articles.
- CINAHLIndexing for top nursing and allied health journals, including publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses Association. Covers nursing, biomedicine, consumer health, alternative medicine, and more. Coverage: 1982-current.
- APA PsycInfoSelect full-text coverage of professional, academic literature in psychology and related disciplines. 1800's to present, with most materials published in the 20th and 21st centuries.
- Global Health (OVID)Comprehensive public health database with unique journal coverage not found in PubMed, MEDLINE, or Embase. Ovid's Global Health database uses the CAB Thesaurus found here.
Business and Communications
- Business Source PremierFull text articles from journals and magazines covering business subjects including accounting, finance, economics, marketing, MIS, and operations management, spanning from 1886 to the present.
- ABI/INFORM GlobalIn-depth coverage of business and management trends, practices, theory and tactics. Mostly full text publications with coverage from 1855 forward.
- Communication AbstractsCitation database indexing communication, advertising, marketing, journalism, film studies, and related disciplines from 1977 to the present.
Humanities and Art
- ARTstorMultidisciplinary image database supporting education and research in art, architecture, the humanities.
- MLA International BibliographyFull text access and/or citations to books, book chapters, journal articles, and dissertations about literature, literary theory, folklore and linguistics. Coverage: 1880s-present.
- Humanities Full TextCitations and full-text articles from scholarly sources and specialized magazines. Citation index covers 1984 to present; full text coverage begins in 1995.
- Project MuseFull-text peer-reviewed digital humanities and social sciences content. May not include most recent years.
- Historical AbstractsWorld history and culture (excluding the U.S. and Canada) focusing on the 15th century to the present. Includes book reviews, articles, dissertations, etc. Coverage from 1953 forward.
Multidisciplinary Resources
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Premier, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's largest scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for nearly 4,650 serials, including more than 3,600 peer-reviewed publications. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 8,200 journals in the collection. This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study including: computer science, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles. The majority of full text titles are available in searchable PDF, or scanned-in-color. This database is updated on a daily basis.
- JSTOR [All subject collections] This link opens in a new windowJSTOR (www.jstor.org) is a not-for-profit organization with a dual mission to create and maintain a trusted archive of important scholarly journals, and to provide access to these journals as widely as possible. Content in JSTOR spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. USF has access to the following collections: Arts & Sciences I - XV Collections, Business IV Collection, Ecology & Botany II Collection, Ireland Collection, Life Sciences Collection, and Sustainability Extension. For more information on these collection, please refer to https://about.jstor.org/librarians/journals/multi-discipline/. -- Simultaneous Users: Unlimited