Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Journalism & Digital Communication

Primary Sources


Library of Congress
The Library of Congress is the largest library in the world, with millions of books, recordings, photographs, newspapers, maps and manuscripts in its collections.

National Archives
Online documents, photos and primary sources from the National Archives.

National Archives: Resources for African American Research
"The Archives holds a wealth of material documenting the African American experience, and highlights these resources online, in programs, and through traditional and social media."
 
Hathitrust
The mission of HathiTrust is to contribute to research, scholarship, and the common good by collaboratively collecting, organizing, preserving, communicating, and sharing the record of human knowledge.

Internet Archive
The Internet Archive was founded in 1996 to build an "Internet library," with the purpose of offering permanent access for researchers, historians, and scholars to historical collections that exist in digital format, such as Internet sites and other cultural digital artifacts.

Chronicling America
Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1789-1963 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress.

Chronicling America -- Newspaper Navigator
The Newspaper Navigator extracts visual content from millions of pages of digitized historic American newspapers from the Chronicling America database. (The Library of Congress has a description of Newspaper Navigator on their website.)

19th Century U.S. Newspapers
The database provides access to primary source newspaper content from the 19th century, featuring full-text content and images from numerous newspapers within a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S. 

America's Historical Newspapers
Chronicles the evolution of American culture and daily life from 1690 to the early 20th century.

Gale Primary Sources
Gale Primary Sources combines Gale's digital humanities and social sciences archives in a single cross-search interface, providing access to millions of pages of content spanning many centuries and geographic regions.

Accessible Archives
The Accessible Archives database provides access to historic newspapers, periodicals and books related to American history. 

ArchiveGrid
An online source for searching through historical documents, personal papers, and family histories held in archives around the world.

Digital Public Library of America (DPLA)
All of the materials found through DPLA -- photographs, books, maps, news footage, oral histories, personal letters, museum objects, artwork, government documents, and so much more -- are free and immediately available in digital format.

Internet History Sourcebooks Project
A collection of public domain and copy-permitted historical texts for educational use compiled at Fordham University.

American Journeys
The Wisconsin Historical Society has compiled this collection of eyewitness accounts by explorers, Native Americans, missionaries, traders, and settlers exploring North America.

Project Gutenberg
Project Gutenberg, founded in 1971, is the oldest digital library.

New York Public Library Digital Collections 
Prints, photographs, maps, manuscripts, streaming video, and more.

Smithsonian Libraries
Digitized books and manuscripts as well as digitized photo collections and ephemera.

Early Americas Digital Archive (EADA)
A collection of electronic texts originally written in or about the Americas from 1492 to approximately 1820. Open to the public for research and teaching purposes, EADA is published and supported by the University of Maryland Libraries’ e-Publishing Initiative.

Avalon Project at the Yale Law School
These full text documents relating to law and diplomacy are sorted by time period.

Immigration to the United States, 1789-1930
This Harvard University site documents voluntary immigration to the United States from the signing of the Constitution to the start of the Great Depression.

DocSouth
Documenting the American South (DocSouth) is a digital publishing initiative that provides Internet access to texts, images, and audio files related to southern history, literature, and culture. 

Oral History Association: Centers and Collections
Programs and archives that have significant oral history collections.

eHistory
A collection of primary sources, documentary material, online books and reviews managed by the Department of History at Ohio State University.

Florida Memory
Primary source documents, photographs, audio and video files from the Florida State Archives.

PALMM (Publication of Archival Library & Museum Materials)
A cooperative initiative of the state universities of Florida to provide digital access to important source materials.

World Digital Library
This Unesco online archive includes materials from around the world.

EuroDocs: Online Sources for European History
Links to European primary historical documents.