Decolonizing Social Sciences Curriculum

From early contacts between European settlers and American Indians and the subsequent political, social and cultural effects of those encounters on American Indian life, these materials tell both the historical and the personal stories of the colonization of the Americas. Continuing through to the modern era, and told against the backdrop of the 19th century expansion into the ‘Western Frontier’ right through to the civil rights movement of the mid-twentieth century.

Apartheid South Africa makes available British government files from the Foreign, Colonial, Dominion and Foreign and Commonwealth Offices spanning the period 1948 to 1980. The launch of apartheid policies by the National Party in 1948 heralded 40 years of legally entrenched white dominance over South African politics, society and business. Punitive restrictions placed on travel, education, work and political activism instigated the formation of organizations such as the African National Congress (ANC) and the Pan-Africanist Congress (PAC), saw support increase for the Communist Party and fueled the growth of international anti-apartheid organizations. These previously restricted letters, diplomatic dispatches, reports, trial papers, activists’ biographies and first-hand accounts of events give unprecedented access to the history of South Africa’s apartheid regime. The files explore the relationship of the international community with South Africa and chart increasing civil unrest against a backdrop of waning colonialism in Africa and mounting world condemnation. The resource is divided in three sections: 1948-1966, 1967-1975 and 1976-1980.

A global collaborative project which provides access to networked scholarly documents, resources and information systems concerned with or relevant to Asian Studies. A part of the World-Wide Web Virtual Library.

The Encyclopedia of Race and Racism is the first such work examining the anthropological, sociological, historical, economic, and scientific theories of race and racism in the modern era. The set delves into the historic origins of ideas of race and racism and explores their social and scientific consequences. Some of the nearly 400 articles address broad theoretical topics that have helped to shape modern ideas about race and racism; others address more specific subjects in the larger fields. The set includes biographies of dozens of significant theorists, as well as political and social leaders and notorious racists. Also includes a selection of primary documents that enhance and reinforce the content of the articles. Set includes a thematic outline, a filmography, and a comprehensive general index.

Gender issues and sexuality provides insight into the personal, social, and political issues of gender and sexuality---issues that range from intimate matters of personal belief to matters that profoundly shape modern society. Part of a series containing primary documents for social issues in the 19th-21st centuries, each title holds approximately 175 full or excerpted documents---speeches, legislation, magazine and newspaper articles, essays, memoirs, letters, interviews, novels, songs, and works of art---as well as overview information that places each document in context.

History Vault provides access to primary source, cross-searchable, full-text/full-image documents on the most widely studied topics in 19th and 20th-century American history.
USF has perpetual access to the following collections:
- Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Federal Government Records
- Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Organizational Records and Personal Papers, Part 1
- Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Organizational Records and Personal Papers, Part 2
- NAACP Papers: The NAACP's Major Campaigns--Education, Voting, Housing, Employment, Armed Forces
- NAACP Papers: The NAACP's Major Campaigns--Scottsboro, Anti-Lynching, Criminal Justice, Peonage, Labor, and Segregation and Discrimination Complaints and Responses
- Slavery, the Slave Trade, and Law and Order in 19th Century America (1636-1880)
- Women at Work during World War II: Rosie the Riveter and the Women's Army Corps
- Office of Strategic Services (OSS)-State Department Intelligence and Research Reports, 1941-1961
- Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, Africa and Middle East, 1960-1969
- Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, Asia, 1960-1969
- Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, Europe and Latin America, 1960-1969

The Latin Americanist Research Resources Project (LARRP) is a project of the Global Resources Network, a consortium of research libraries that seeks to increase free and open access to information in support of learning and scholarship in Latin American Studies. LARRP provides access to the tables of contents of 975 journals, primarily in the humanities and social sciences, published in Latin America, social sciences grey literature produced in Latin America by research institutes, nongovernmental organizations, and peripheral agencies, as well as digital images of more than 75,000 pages of Mexican and Argentinian presidential speeches from the early 19th century to the present.

This electronic resource is a collection of primary source documents within the larger database of Archives Unbound. It is composed of digital images of FBI surveillance files on the activities of the African Liberation Support Committee and All African Peoples Revolutionary Party. It covers the years 1970-1985 in over 11,000 images from the FBI Headquarters Library. This collection provides two unique views on African American support for liberation struggles in Africa, the issue of Pan-Africanism, and the role of African independence movements as political leverage for domestic Black struggles. Within the database, the digitized images can be cropped, highlighted, rotated, resized, and two images can be compared side-by-side. Results can be downloaded as PDF, printed, emailed, or exported to bibliographic management software like Endnote and Refworks.