Search Terms and Stratigies
Keyword Tips:
-
Once you come up with some keywords, try and think of synonyms, you want to think about how other people might describe the resource.
-
Use the databases to check for other keywords related to your search
-
Test out different combinations .
-
Put phrases inside quotation marks so the entire phrase is searched not just the individual words.
-
use a * for truncation, the searches the stem of the word, ex: Park, will search for Park, Parks, Parking
Example:
Research Topic: Ecotourism and National Parks
Possible keywords: Ecotour* And "National Park", Conservation, "responsible travel"
Subject Specific Databases
- Ethnic NewswatchA full-text collection of newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Contemporary collection spans 1990-present, and the historical collection, Ethnic NewsWatch: A History™, spans 1959-1989.
- Anthropology PlusComprehensive index of bibliographic materials in social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology. Coverage: 1880s-present.
- AnthroSourceProvides a single point of access to publications of the American Anthropological Association, including peer reviewed journals, newsletters, and bulletins.
General Databases
- Academic Search PremierMultidisciplinary full-text database with peer reviewed journals, magazines and other resources from 1975 forward.
- JSTORJSTOR coverage spans a variety of disciplines, with a focus on the humanities and social sciences. The included content is comprehensive for archival and historical materials in the collection’s scholarly titles. The most recent 3-5 years of each journal is not available directly via JSTOR, however the USF Libraries provides access to current issues of a majority of these titles in other database and e-journal subscriptions.
- Social Sciences Full TextAbstracts, citations, and some full text for core journals in anthropology, economics, geography, criminology, political science, social work, and sociology. Full text coverage: 1995-present.
Books
Native American Archaeology in the Parks by Call Number: E77.9 .F433 2023ISBN: 9781538145869Publication Date: 2023-01-09
Heading Towards Extinction? Indigenous Rights in Africa by Call Number: TAMPA KRG490.B73 A19 2000ISBN: 8790730313Publication Date: 2000-12-01
Indigenous Peoples, National Parks, and Protected Areas by ISBN: 9780816598601Publication Date: 2014-09-18
Conservation and Globalization by Call Number: Tampa SB486.S65 I36 2004ISBN: 0534613179Publication Date: 2003-08-29
- Interlibrary LoanIf there is a book at the Tampa library or in any other library you want and we don't have it you can use interlibrary loan (ILL) to get the book shipping to our campus library for use (free of charge)
- CatalogUSF Catalog, also links to resources on other Florida Campuses