USF Librarian Contacts
Business, Finance & Macroeconomics
| FRED – Economic data from the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis, including interest rates, GDP, and inflation. - API Documentation: https://fred.stlouisfed.org/docs/api/fred/ |
| World Bank – Global development and economic indicators for countries worldwide. - API Documentation: https://documents.worldbank.org/en/publication/documents-reports/api |
| OECD – Economic, social, and financial statistics from 38 member countries. - API Documentation: https://www.oecd.org/en/data/insights/data-explainers/2024/09/api.html |
| IMF – International Monetary Fund data on global economic health, trade, and forecasts. - API Documentation: https://betadata.imf.org/en/Resource-Pages/IMF-API / https://www.imf.org/external/datamapper/api/help |
| Eurostat – Statistical office of the European Union providing economy-wide indicators. - API Documentation: https://wikis.ec.europa.eu/spaces/EUROSTATHELP/pages/95552792/API+-+Getting+started |
| European Central Bank – Monetary statistics, interest rates, and economic research for the eurozone. - API Documentation: https://data.ecb.europa.eu/help/api/overview |
| U.S. SEC Edgar – Public filings and financial disclosures of U.S. public companies. - API Documentation: https://www.sec.gov/search-filings/edgar-application-programming-interfaces |
| Yahoo Finance – Market data and financial news with historical stock and ETF information. - API Documentation: https://yfinance-python.org/ |
| Alpha Vantage – Free financial market data including stocks, forex, and crypto. - API Documentation: https://www.alphavantage.co/documentation/ |
| Nasdaq Data Link – Economic, financial, and alternative data (formerly Quandl). - API Documentation: https://docs.data.nasdaq.com/docs/getting-started#finding-data-on-nasdaq-data-link |
| UN Comtrade – International trade statistics between countries by commodity. - API Documentation: https://comtradedeveloper.un.org |
| U.S. Census Bureau – Business and economic data including retail, population, and housing. - API Documentation: https://www.census.gov/data/developers/data-sets.html |
| U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics – Employment, wage, inflation, and productivity data. - API Documentation: https://www.bls.gov/developers/ |
| United States Patent and Trademark Office – Patent and trademark filings, classifications, and legal status. - API Documentation: https://developer.uspto.gov/api-catalog / https://data.uspto.gov/apis/getting-started |
Energy, Agriculture & Environment
| U.S. Energy Information Administration (EIA) – U.S. energy production, consumption, and forecasts. - API Documentation: https://www.eia.gov/opendata/ |
| U.S. Geological Survey (USGS) – Natural resource, geological, and environmental data. - API Documentation: https://www.usgs.gov/products/web-tools/apis |
| NOAA Climate Data – Weather, climate, and environmental monitoring from the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration. - API Documentation: https://www.ncdc.noaa.gov/cdo-web/webservices/v2 |
| U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) – Environmental data on emissions, water, air quality, and pollutants. - API Documentation: https://www.epa.gov/data/application-programming-interface-api |
| USDA National Agricultural Statistics Service (NASS) – Agricultural production, pricing, and crop reports. - API Documentation: https://www.nass.usda.gov/developer/index.php |
Government & Politics
| Data.gov – Central U.S. government open data platform across all agencies and sectors. - API Documentation: https://api.data.gov/ |
| Federal Election Commission (FEC) – Official U.S. campaign finance filings and election data. - API Documentation: https://api.open.fec.gov/developers/ |
| OpenSecrets – Campaign finance, lobbying, and donor influence data from the Center for Responsive Politics. - API Documentation: https://www.opensecrets.org/open-data/api |
| U.S. Federal Register – Daily updates on executive orders, rules, and regulations. - API Documentation: https://www.federalregister.gov/developers/documentation/api/v1 |
| Congress.gov – U.S. legislative information including bills, voting records, and member profiles. - API Documentation: https://www.congress.gov/help/using-data-offsite |
| CaseLaw Access Project – U.S. court decisions from 1658–2020, offering full-text and metadata access to millions of legal opinions from federal and state courts. - API Documentation: https://case.law/docs/ |
| U.S. General Services Administration (GSA) – Web analytics and open tech tools for government transparency. - API Documentation: https://open.gsa.gov/api/ |
| Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) – Public health and disease surveillance data. - API Documentation: https://open.cdc.gov/apis.html |
| U.S. Department of Transportation (DOT) – Infrastructure, traffic, aviation, and safety statistics. - API Documentation: https://www.transportation.gov/developer |
Media Monitoring & News Archives
| NY Times – Article metadata, top stories, and archive access from The New York Times. - API Documentation: https://developer.nytimes.com/apis |
| The Guardian – Open platform for articles, sections, tags, and multimedia content. - API Documentation: https://open-platform.theguardian.com/documentation/ |
| Reddit – Access to discussions, trends, and media commentary via subreddit feeds. - API Documentation: https://www.reddit.com/dev/api/ |
| Wayback Machine – Archive of historical web pages and news articles from Internet Archive. - API Documentation: https://archive.org/help/wayback_api.php |
| GDELT – Global real-time monitoring of media tone, events, and mentions in over 100 languages. - API Documentation: https://www.gdeltproject.org/data.html / https://blog.gdeltproject.org/gdelt-doc-2-0-api-debuts/ |
| MediaCloud – Academic tool for analyzing media coverage, framing, and topic frequency. - API Documentation: https://www.mediacloud.org/documentation/search-api-guide |
Scholarly Research, Literature & AI
| DOAJ (Directory of Open Access Journals) – A curated index of high-quality, peer-reviewed open access journals across all disciplines. Offers metadata and article-level access via API. - API Documentation: https://doaj.org/api/v4/docs |
| CORE – Aggregates millions of open access research papers from institutional repositories and journals worldwide. Offers full-text access and metadata via API. - API Documentation: https://core.ac.uk/services/api |
| Semantic Scholar – An AI-powered academic search engine by the Allen Institute for AI, providing structured metadata, citations, and paper content across millions of scientific publications. - API Documentation: https://www.semanticscholar.org/product/api |
| Elsevier (Scopus & ScienceDirect) – Provides access to abstracts, citation data, and some full-text content from Elsevier's scientific publishing platforms. - API Documentation: https://dev.elsevier.com/ |
| ORCID – Provides unique researcher identifiers and public profiles, allowing access to researcher-contributed works, affiliations, and publication history. - API Documentation: https://info.orcid.org/documentation/api-tutorials/ |
| CrossRef – Maintains DOIs (Digital Object Identifiers) and provides metadata for scholarly publications including authorship, citations, and references. - API Documentation: https://www.crossref.org/documentation/retrieve-metadata/rest-api/ |
| Google Books – Search and retrieve metadata, previews, and availability of millions of digitized books indexed by Google. - API Documentation: https://developers.google.com/books/docs/overview |
| Project Gutenberg – A vast collection of public domain literary works in plain text, ePub, and Kindle formats, accessible via various open APIs and downloads. - API Documentation: https://www.gutenberg.org/policy/robot_access.html |