LIT6934 Periodical Publishing : Periodicals Databases

This database contains periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, childrens and womens magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals.

British Periodicals Collection II consists of more than 300 journals from the UMI microfilm collections English Literary Periodicals and British Periodicals in the Creative Arts, amounting to almost 3 million pages published from 1681 through 1939. Topics covered include literature, music, art, drama, archaeology and architecture. The British Periodicals series traces the development and growth of the periodical press in Britain from its origins in the seventeenth century through the Victorian age of periodicals and beyond. The collection offers new ways of exploring the inaccessible, neglected or forgotten writings that formed their original contexts. A wide array of different types of periodical are represented, from magisterial quarterlies to coterie art periodicals, penny weeklies and illustrated family magazines. Major figures featured in British Periodicals II with either essays, serialized versions of texts, original stories/poems, or letters include: Oscar Wilde, Alfred Lord Tennyson, Bram Stoker, John Stuart Mill, Samuel Johnson, Arthur Conan Doyle, Charles Dickens, Daniel Defoe, Lewis Carroll, Elizabeth Barrett Browning, Thomas Hardy, Joseph Conrad, Rudyard Kipling, and George Eliot.

The MLA directory of periodicals offers detailed information on over 7,100 journals, with 4,400 currently indexed in the MLA international bibliography. The detailed entries include editorial contact information, as well as frequency, circulation, subscription prices and submission guidelines.

This database draws its current content from international scholarly and popular periodicals in Black Studies and contains full-text coverage of core Black Studies titles. It covers a wide array of humanities-related disciplines including art, cultural criticism, economics, education, health, history, language and literature, law, philosophy, politics, religion, and sociology. Coverage: 1900-current -- Simultaneous Users: Unlimited

19th Century UK Periodicals (Nineteenth Century UK Periodicals) database is an online collection of British journals, newspapers and magazines, providing an in-depth view of British life in the Victorian era. The second series, Empire: Travel and Anthropology, Economics, Missionary and Colonial, covers the expansion of the Empire, addressing the economic as well as the non-mercantile aspects of British expansionism. It provides access to rare primary sources, originally issued in color, from the various regions of the British Empire, including Africa, Australia, Canada, India, New Zealand. The database covers topics such as travel and exploration, economic history, colonial history, missionary activities in the British Empire, slavery, anthropology and race, etc. -- Simultaneous Users: Unlimited

Partnering with the American Antiquarian Society (AAS), the premier library documenting the life of America's people from the Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction, EBSCO provides digital access to the most comprehensive collection of American periodicals published between 1684 and 1912. The fifty thematic subsets from AAS Historical Periodicals include digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals not available from any other source and provide rich content detailing American history and culture from the mid-18th century through the late-19th century. These specialized collections cover advertising, health, women's issues, science, the history of slavery, industry and professions, religious issues, culture and the arts, and more.

Accessible Archives database provides access to historic newspapers, periodicals and books related to American history. Includes eyewitness accounts to historical events, with observations and vivid descriptions of daily life and commerce. Some genealogical information and records included. The University of South Florida subscribes to all 18th and 19th century newspapers, periodicals, and books. Collections include: African American Newspapers; The AMAROC News, 1919-1923; America and World War I: American Military Camp Newspapers; American County Histories; Anatomy of Protest in America; The Civil War (newspapers and books); History of Woman Suffrage; National Anti-Slavery Standard; Quarantine and Disease Control in America (newspapers and books); South Carolina Newspapers; The Women's Tribune; Women's Suffrage Collection, and more.

Alternative Press Index (API) is a bibliographic database of journal, newspaper, and magazine articles from over 300 international alternative, radical, and left periodicals. Born of the New Left, the API was launched in 1969 to provide access to the emerging theories and practices of radical social change. API coverage is both international and interdisciplinary. Coverage begins in 1991. With over 330,000 records, the API is considered the most comprehensive and up-to-date guide to alternative sources of information available.

HAPI is the online version of the Hispanic American Periodicals Index. HAPI supplies authoritative and worldwide information about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States. From analyses of current political, economic, and social issues to unique coverage of Latin American arts and letters, HAPI Online contains complete bibliographic citations to articles, book reviews, documents, original literary works, and other materials appearing in more than 400 key social science and humanities journals published throughout the world. HAPI combines current information about Latin America with in-depth coverage spanning more than twenty-five years, from 1970 to the present. -- Simultaneous Users: Unlimited