LIT6934 Periodical Publishing : Newspaper Databases

This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.

This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.

The Proquest Historical Newspapers: Chicago Defender is the online, cover-to-cover version of the Chicago Defender from 1909 to 1975. Founded in 1905, the Chicago based African-American newspaper developed into a prominent publication that attracted a national audience with more than two-thirds of its readership outside of Chicago. The newspaper was a proponent of The Great Migration, the move of over 1.5 million African-Americans from the segregated South to the industrial North from 1915 to 1925. It reported on the Red Summer race riots of 1919, and editorialized for anti-lynching legislation and the integration of blacks into the U.S. military. This newspaper also supported the aviation career of Bessie Coleman, the first African-American female pilot, and promoted the writing of Langston Hughes and Poet Laureate Gwendolyn Brooks. Other online content includes: editorials, classified advertisements, legal notices, marriage, and obituary notices. Users can perform simple keyword searches and advanced searches. Advanced search options include: abstract, subject, author, document type and date. Search results display abstracts and full image content in PDF format. Search results can be saved, printed, emailed and exported to bibliographic management software, such as Refworks. This resource is appropriate for both an undergraduate and graduate audience. Simultaneous Users: Unlimited

19th Century U.S. Newspapers (Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers) database contains digital facsimile images of newspapers, presented as full page layout as well as single articles, with advertisements and illustrations included. The database provides access to primary source newspaper content from the 19th century, featuring full-text content and images from numerous newspapers within a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S. The collection encompasses the entire 19th century, including various topics: the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration and Antebellum-era life, etc. -- Simultaneous Users: Unlimited

The ProQuest Historical Newspapers: New York Amsterdam News is the online, cover-to-cover version of the New York Amsterdam News from 1922 to 1993. Founded in Harlem, New York during 1909 the newspaper grew to be considered one of the more prominent African American newspapers in the United States. It captured the vibrancy and richness of the Harlem Renaissance in the 1920s, advocated for the desegregation of the U.S. military during World War II, and fought against discriminatory employment practices and other civil rights abuses in the 1960s. The article content is multidisciplinary and chronicles politics, society, and news events affecting the African-American community. The article content includes published columns by such African-American notables as W. E. B. Du Bois, Roy Wilkins, Adam Clayton Powell, Jr., and Malcolm X. Other online content includes: editorials, classified advertisements, reviews, business and legal notices, marriage, and obituary notices. Users can perform simple keyword searches and advanced searches. Advanced search options include: abstract, subject, author, document type and date. Search results display abstracts and full image content in PDF format. Search results can be saved, printed, emailed and exported to bibliographic management software, such as Refworks. This resource is appropriate for both an undergraduate and graduate audience. Simultaneous Users: Unlimited

Research areas in LEXIS-NEXIS Academic Universe cover news,industry, and market news; legal news and research; company financial information; general medical topics ; accounting, auditing, and tax information; law reviews; case law; U.S. Code. -- Simultaneous Users: Unlimited

U.S. Major Dailies provides access to five U.S. national and regional newspapers, including The New York Times and Washington Post, co-exclusive access to The Wall Street Journal, and exclusive access to Los Angeles Times and Chicago Tribune. The titles offer researchers thorough and timely coverage of local, regional, and world events with journalistic balance and perspective. The content is available by 8am each day. Coverage: 1980 - current. -- Simultaneous Users: Unlimited

Access world news from NewsBank provides full-text information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 500 international sources, each with its own distinctive focus offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues. Each newspaper or wire service provides unique coverage of local and regional news, including specific information about local companies, politics, sports, industries, cultural activities, and the people in the community. Paid advertisements are excluded. -- Simultaneous Users: Unlimited