Oral History Program (OHP)

Robert Kerstein's history of politics and growth in Tampa covers the period from the coming of the railroads and cigar industry through the mid-1990s.

The roster of immigrants from the Caribbean who have made a profound impact on the development of radical politics in the United States is extensive.

This reprint of Gary Mormino and George Pozzetta's classic, "The Immigrant World of Ybor City," makes available once again the wonderful story of the vibrant community of Italians, Spaniards, and Cubans that grew up around the cigar industry in Tampa, Florida, at the dawn of the 20th century.

Proceedings of the Eleventh Annual Conference of the American Italian Historical Association, Cleveland Ohio.

The Columbia is Florida's oldest and most honored restaurant. Founded in 1905 as a cafe catering to immigrant cigar workers in Ybor City, it has grown into one of the culinary touchstones of the state.

"... Exploring Oral History is a user-friendly guide to the systematic, interactive collection and analysis of people's accounts of their lives and experiences. It is designed to help the reader understand the value of oral history as a method of social research that serves both basic academic and applied needs... the text includes a listing of sources that can help readers explore the theory, method, and substantive data of oral history in greater detail..."--BOOK JACKET.

Doing Oral History: A Practical Guide is considered the premier guidebook to oral history, used by professional oral historians, public historians, archivists, and genealogists as a core text in college courses and throughout the public history community. This basic manual offers detailed advice on setting up an oral history project, conducting interviews, making video recordings, preserving oral history collections in archives and libraries, and teaching and presenting oral history. The third edition includes many more references to non-U.S. projects that will still be relevant to an American audience. These changes make the third edition of Doing Oral History an even more useful tool for beginners, teachers, archivists, and all those oral history managers who have inherited older collections that must be converted to the latest technology.

Written in a practical, instructive style, MacKay goes carefully through the various steps that take place after the oral history interview--transcribing, cataloging, preserving, archiving, and making your study accessible to others.

In addition to the problem of language, conducting oral histories with immigrant narrators often requires special considerations: past violence, cultural sensitivity, and lack of trust. Yet, these narrators are often witnesses to, or participants in, important historical events, or can describe otherwise-undocumented social phenomena. The first book to focus specifically on oral history practices with immigrant narrators, it -gives both the novice and experienced oral historian insights into their narrators¿ needs;-provides the tools to effectively plan and execute an oral history project in an immigrant community;-includes case studies, additional resources, and templates of important oral history processes.