Research that informs evidence-based practice comes from several sources. These sources include, peer-reviewed journal articles, randomized clinical trials, and clinical trials. Occasionally, books and selected websites can be good sources of reliable, evidence-based information. This page lists sources research articles, books, and web sites that contribute to evidence-based practice.
Peer reviewed journals contain articles that have been through a rigorous review before being published. Because these articles have been through this review process, articles in peer-reviewed journals are good sources of evidence-based information. Useful keywords to use when searching for articles with evidence based information are:
Indexing for top nursing and allied health journals, including publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses Association. Covers nursing, biomedicine, consumer health, alternative medicine, and more. Coverage: 1982-current.
The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (COCH) includes the full text of the regularly updated systematic reviews of the effects of healthcare prepared by The Cochrane Collaboration. The reviews are presented in two types: Complete Reviews (regularly updated Cochrane Reviews, prepared and maintained by Collaborative Review Groups); and Protocols (protocols for reviews currently being prepared. Protocols are the background, objectives and methods of reviews in preparation).
In general, caution is recommended when relying on websites for evidence-based information. Peer-reviewed journal articles based on research studies are your best sources of evidence-based information. However, there are some selected websites that feature practice guidelines written by experts in a particular field.
The Campbell Collaboration is an international research network that produces systematic reviews of the effects of social interventions in Crime & Justice, Education, International Development, and Social Welfare.
Evidence-Based Practices Resource Center aims to provide communities, clinicians, policy-makers and others in the field with the information and tools they need to incorporate evidence-based practices into their communities or clinical settings. The Resource Center contains a collection of scientifically-based resources for a broad range of audiences, including Treatment Improvement Protocols, toolkits, resource guides, clinical practice guidelines, and other science-based resources.
Practice guidlines provide evidence-based guidelines for providing specific interventions. Books are often a good source of practice guidelines.
Includes ebooks from Oxford University Press. Social Work Collection holds strengths in broad areas of the discipline, such as child welfare, mental health, social policy, and crime and justice. It places a particular focus on research methods and evidence-based practice