Listed below are library resources to discover information about your research topic.
BE SURE to log into the library website when you first begin to use it in order to get access to the databases. Information about the login process is available on the LibSkills guide.
Use Find It! to locate books, articles, streaming video, CDs and more in the library collection. Use the big green box on the front page of the library website. Here you can search by everything in the library collection using Find It!, Scholarly/Peer-Reviewed Articles, Google Scholar, Books, Databases, E-Journals and Reserves.
Oxford Scholarship Online. Music.
Oxford Scholarship Online is an online resource with ebooks from Oxford University Press.
Oxford Handbooks Online
Oxford Handbooks Online: Music Foundation Collection include reference studies on current scholarship in all areas of music research.
Academic Search Premier
Multidisciplinary full-text database with peer reviewed journals, magazines and other resources from 1975 forward.
JSTOR
Arts, humanities, and sciences database providing some full text access to journals, books, and primary source materials. Select coverage from 17th century to present. May not include most recent years.
Music Periodicals Database
Specialized index to music periodicals providing current and retrospective coverage of scholarly and popular periodicals in classical and popular music, opera, jazz, music education, and music theory.
Oxford Music Online
This is the authoritative encyclopedia for music research.
Oxford History of Western Music
This library resource contains articles that provide a broad historical survey of the traditions of Western music. Each era is represented by a selection of articles that illustrate distinct musical themes and styles of the different periods. The text provides biographical and historical detail of composers, musical ideas, works and critical analyses.
Music & Performing Arts
Audio and video spanning all time periods from thousands of artists, composers, choreographers and ensembles.