Florida Studies Curator & Campus Archivist
Alexandra Vargas-Minor joined the Nelson Poynter Memorial Library in September 2023. She previously worked at Ringling College of Art & Design as the inaugural Campus Archivist, establishing the Ringling College Archives and providing support for the Brizdle-Schoenberg Special Collections Center. Her interest in archives began during her undergraduate education at New College of Florida, where she conducted extensive research in the institutional archives to complete multiple independent study projects and her thesis. Alexandra gained experience at a variety of organizations in the cultural heritage and collectibles sectors, ultimately gravitating towards academic archives and special collections. After graduating with her MLIS from USF, she earned her Certified Archivist (CA) designation with the Academy of Certified Archivists. In 2022, Alexandra received the Sarasota Alliance for Historic Preservation’s Heritage Award in Historical Collections Preservation for establishing the Ringling College Archives. Outside of work, she enjoys practicing yoga, traveling, and spending time with her husband, dogs, and reptiles.
Primary Areas of Focus
- Manages and oversees the USF St. Petersburg campus archives and special collections
- Liaison to the Florida Studies program
Education
- Masters of Library and Information Science, University of South Florida
- Bachelor of the Arts in Liberal Arts, Concentration in History, New College of Florida
Research Interests
- Enhancing access and discoverability of archives and special collections
- Archival and cultural heritage administration