Research in Dance

this guide will help you identify sources that are appropriate to use when researching your topic in the USF Libraries.

Physical Therapy

Amelia is interested in how physical therapists are trained to manage and care for the dance population as well as dance specific needs and issues surrounding the medical care for dancers.

SUGGESTIONS:

MULTIDISCIPLINARY databases are a good place to start:

  • Academic Search Premier.

Check the following discipline specific databases:

DANCE databases

  • Dance Education Literature and Research descriptive index
  • International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text
  • International Index to the Performing Arts (IIPA)

EDUCATION databases

  • ERIC
  • Education Full-Text

PSYCHOLOGY databases

  • PSYCHINFO

MEDICAL databases

  • MEDLINE
  • SPORTdiscus

Business

Amy is interested in the ownership and operation of a dance studio. Possibly administrative work for dance.

SUGGESTIONS:

MULTIDISCIPLINARY databases are a good place to start:

  • Academic Search Premier.

Check the following discipline specific databases:

DANCE databases

  • Dance Education Literature and Research descriptive index
  • International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text
  • International Index to the Performing Arts (IIPA)

BUSINESS databases

  • Business Source Premier.

You might want to think about where you would like to open a dance studio and do some research about the feasibility of operating a dance studio in that location.

You might want to look at the Occupational Outlook Handbook.  Also, the Small Business Administration.

At-Risk Youth

Chantiyon is interested in working with at-risk youth with dance intervention and assessing the benefits of dance with at-risk populations.

SUGGESTIONS:

The multidisciplinary databases are a good place to start.  Try Academic Search Premier.

Check the following discipline specific databases:

DANCE databases

  • Dance Education Literature and Research descriptive index
  • International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text
  • International Index to the Performing Arts (IIPA)

EDUCATION databases

  • ERIC
  • Education Full-Text

PSYCHOLOGY databases

  • PSYCHINFO

MEDICAL databases

  • MEDLINE

Business/Law

Rachel is interested in the legal aspects of choreography and rights on the Internet.

SUGGESTIONS:

MULTIDISCIPLINARY databases are a good place to start:

  • Academic Search Premier.

Check the following discipline specific databases:

DANCE databases

  • Dance Education Literature and Research descriptive index
  • International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text
  • International Index to the Performing Arts (IIPA)

LEGAL databases

  • LegalTrac
  • Intex to Legal Periodicals

BUSINESS databases

  • Business Source Premier.

Be sure to check the U.S. Copyright Office.

Business Managment

Sarah is interested in researching performing arts presenting organizations (i.e. Straz Center, etc.).  What they do?  How they choose events? 

MULTIDISCIPLINARY databases are a good place to start:

  • Academic Search Premier.

Check the following discipline specific databases:

DANCE databases

  • Dance Education Literature and Research descriptive index
  • International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text
  • International Index to the Performing Arts (IIPA)

BUSINESS databases

  • Business Source Premier