Government Documents
The USF Libraries - Tampa Campus library is a depository for a wide range of federal and state government publications. The USF Libaries - Tampa Campus library was designated as a Federal Depository Library in 1962 and selects, acquires, and organizes approximately 55 percent of the government publications that are issued by the U.S. Government Printing Office. Publications are issued by the executive, congressional, or judicial branches of government.
The USF Libraries - Tampa Campus library became a state depository library in 1967 and regularly receives publications from the State Library of Florida that are published by state departments and agencies
The Federal Depository Library Collection is located in the basement of the Tampa Campus library and is accessible during regular library hours.. Most materials are available for checkout with a valid USF ID card. The state of Florida depository materials are shelved with the library's general collections and can be located by searching the online catalog. Reference service for the federal and state documents collections is provided by the Library Services Desk (813.974.2729), located on the first floor of the Tampa Campus library.
Contact Information:
John Abresch
Coordinator of Collections
jabresch@usf.edu
USF Libraries
Federal Depository Library Resources
- Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (CGP)Find full-text federal publications and citation records by authoring agency, title, subject, or general keywords.
- Core Documents of U.S. DemocracyA core group of current and historical Government publications, available for free, via GPO Access
- Federal Digital System (FDsys)Free, online access to official publications of the Legislative, Judicial, and Executive Branches of the US government.
- Govinfo.govThis is GPO's beta website that will eventually replace the Federal Digital System (FDsys) public website.
- U.S. Documents MasterfileComprehensive coverage of U.S. Federal data and government information. Search for and access government documents from 1774 to the present day with this resource.
Federal Depository Library
For more than 140 years, The Government Printing Office (GPO) has kept America informed by producing and distributing Federal government information products. GPO combines conventional technology with state-of-the-art methods whether providing public access to Government information online, or producing or procuring printed publications that serve the information needs of the U.S. Congress, Federal agencies and the American public.
The mission of the Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP) is to disseminate information products from all three branches of the Government to over 1,250 libraries nationwide. The FDLP provides Government information at no cost to designated depository libraries throughout the country and territories. These depository libraries, in turn, provide local, no-fee access to Government information in an impartial environment with professional assistance.
As institutions committed to equity of access and dedicated to free and unrestricted public use, the nation's nearly 1,250 depository libraries serve as one of the vital links between "We the people" and our Government. Anyone can visit Federal depository libraries and use the Federal depository collections which are filled with information on careers, business opportunities, consumer information, health and nutrition, legal and regulatory information, demographics, and numerous other subjects.
Locate a Federal Depository Library
- Federal Depository Library Directory (FDLD)Multiple methods for locating a Federal Depository Library (FDL).
Florida Electronic Federal Depository Library
Florida Electronic Federal Depository Library (FEFDL)
This website was created by the Government Documents Department of the George A. Smathers Libraries of the University of Florida in order to provide indexing of and access to government information online.
The site's primary mission is to meet the needs of researchers and the general public for access to information by and about the state of Florida and its local governments.
- Florida Electronic Federal Depository LibraryThis website is an effort of the Government Documents Department of the George A. Smathers Libraries of the University of Florida to provide indexing of and access to government information on the World Wide Web.