Digital Learning Objects & Media Tools to Supplement Instruction
Open-access (OA) resources for instruction.
Content Created by USF Faculty
This collection of resources encapsulates virtual, interdisciplinary, integrative, and educational content created by USF faculty. To contribute a project to be included on this list, please suggest or contribute a resource.
Virtual Experiences and Visualizations
- Digital Heritage and Humanities Collections Virtual Tours
Florida parks, national monuments, and heritage sites recorded virtually by the USF Libraries' Digital Heritage and Humanities Collections. - Early Visions of FloridaA digital anthology of early visions of Florida from the USF St. Petersburg collections.
- Eighteenth Century Britons: At Home and AbroadThe USF Libraries Tampa Special Collections Department has developed this StoryMap to complement the topics in your course, ENL 4112, and to capture the geographic scope of materials in our collections that eighteenth-century Britons would have encountered during their lives (still under construction).
- Intro to Literary Methodology: Virtual Instruction Session for Dr. Jessica Cook's ENG 3014 Spring 2020The USF Libraries Tampa Special Collections Department has developed this StoryMap to complement the topics in your course, ENG 3014 - Introduction to Literary Methodology, and to capture a glimpse into the inspiring and diverse holdings in our collections that might be of interest to a literary scholar.
- La Florida: the interactive digital archive of the AmericasA collaborative initiative between USF St. Petersburg, EDRIEL Intelligence, and Instituto NAUTA combining research with current technology to offer a multidisciplinary perspective of colonial Florida’s rich history.
- USF Digital Initiative: tours of the Tampa Bay History CenterDigital Heritage and Humanities Collections at the University of South Florida Libraries in partnership with the Tampa Bay History Center, have created virtual experiences of TBHC exhibits viewable in any browser.
Audio and video resources
- Calling Earth PodcastThe Calling: Earth podcast is a production of the University of South Florida Libraries in cooperation with the USF School of Geosciences that discusses emerging research in the Geosciences.
- USF Libraries Instructional VideosTutorial videos on the research process, citation styles, library databases, and more.
- USF Marine Science YouTube channelRecorded lectures from the college of Marine Science at USF.
Content Portals
- Florida Environmental Interface: USF LibrariesIn addition to improving access to the collections and research in the USF Special and Digital Collections, the focus of this portal is to organize, categorize, and synthesize current and historical information related to the environments of Florida.
- Weekly Challenger Chronology Index and Tampa Bay African-American History Research GuideThe Weekly Challenger has documented the history of St. Petersburg's African American community since the newspaper was established by Cleveland Johnson Jr. in September 1967.