The Art Institute of Chicago has contributed approximately 1,450 images from their global permanent collection to the Artstor Digital Library. The selection in Artstor represents the diversity and excellence of the collection, featuring iconic highlights with an emphasis on antiquities from various cultures, European paintings, and works on paper
Art Resource, the worlds largest photo archive of fine art, offers a range of material from prehistoric times to the present. We carry the works of almost every major museum in Europe, and function as the official rights and permissions representative for many institutions in the United States and abroad.
The Musée du Louvre, the world’s most-visited museum, is now allowing the public to browse its 480,000-piece collection from the comfort of their homes. The French museum has created an online platform featuring all of the museum’s artworks, the Louvre announced on March 26. Works are presented in the collections database regardless of whether they are on display in the Musée du Louvre or Musée Delacroix, visible in the gardens, on long-term loan in France or abroad, or in storage. Information about their location is included in each entry.
The Metropolitan Museum of Art includes more than 2 million works of art, spanning 5,000 years of world culture. This selection (more than 400,000 images) encompasses the museum's holdings from ancient works through to the twentieth century, across media and the globe.The museum first opened in 1872 in a townhouse located on Fifth Avenue in New York City. The collection was founded with 174 European paintings. Today the comprehensive collections are shared by 17 diverse curatorial departments, and the main building, incorporating successive expansions, occupies more than 2 million square feet.
The platform offers the user to virtually walk in the two oval rooms of Water Lilies by Claude Monet designed between 1915 and 1926 in Giverny, and also, thanks to the zoom function, to immerse in the whole of the eight monumental compositions of the impressionist Master.
Smarthistory's mission to open museums and cultural sites up to the world, one video at a time. We’re creating world-class resources on art and cultural objects for learners from around the globe, for free.Closed caption available for all videos.
Dr. Sape Zylstra constructed a collection of the first century of Tampa's rich architectural history. Contained within this collection is the Tampa cigar industry from 1886 to 1920, the architecture of a more modern era and modern houses.