The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics is an online resource that contains over 600 historical and contemporary articles on all aspects of aesthetics from both Western and Non-Western perspectives. The article topical content includes essays on: art, music, theater, dance television, film, society, and popular culture. The article content also includes cross-references and bibliographies
The Encyclopedia of the Enlightenment that contains over 700 entries on diverse aspects of the Enlightenment covering the period from 1670 to 1815. The scope of the article content includes Western Europe, Eastern Europe and English speaking North America. The article topical content includes: humanities, politics, economics, philosophy, religion, arts, and science.
This is a comprehensive survey of American art from Pre-Columbian sources to cotemporary movements. Article topical includes: painting, architecture, sculpture, photography, history, biographies, digital art, and performance art. Other article content includes: images, color plates, cross-references and bibliographies
A comprehensive source for the visual arts of the Classical period. It features articles ranging from biographies to entries on architecture, ceramics, metalwork, mosaics, painting and sculpture. Covering every classical art form, and time period, the encyclopedia includes artists, rulers, philosophers, architecture, renowned works of art, archaeological sites and stylistic developments
A comprehensive source of information on Islamic art and architecture ranging from the Middle East to Central and South Asia, Africa, and Europe and spans over a thousand years of history. Entries provide in-depth art historical and cultural information about dynasties, art forms, artists, architecture, rulers, monuments, archaeological sites and stylistic developments. In addition, over 500 illustrations of sculpture, mosaic, painting, ceramics, architecture, metalwork and calligraphy illuminate the rich artistic tradition of the Islamic world
This work provides comprehensive, up-to-date information on all aspects of this fundamental area of the visual arts. It examines the historical and current uses of materials and techniques in a wide range of areas from painting and sculpture to non-traditional media such as digital and video art. Coverage includes materials in art practice (e.g. ink, enamel, digital materials); materials in conservation (e.g. adhesives); classes of artifacts (e.g. wallpaper, mosaic, ceramic); techniques and methods (e.g. book binding, gilding, printing, weaving), terms (e.g. rustication), tools (e.g. easel, laser), theory (e.g. technical examination, conservation controversies), fakes & forgeries, and conservation theorists and practitioners
The Grove Encyclopedia of Northern Renaissance Art is an online resource that contains over 1,700 entries covering all aspects of Northern Renaissance Art. Article topical content includes: biographies, architecture, craftsmen, philosophers, , countries, centers of production, painting, sculpture, jewelry, theory, criticism, historiography, collecting, and patronage. Additional article content includes maps, drawings, bibliographies, diagrams, and color plates
The Routledge Encyclopedia of Modernism is an interdisciplinary encyclopedia with content from the Modernist period and covering Literature, Architecture, Visual Arts, Music, Dance, Theatre, Film, and Intellectual Currents. Researchers can browse by subject, movement, or place in order to discover connections between key topics and fields.