LibGuides: HIS 4936: Pro-Sem: Environmental History: St Pete: Primary Sources

Archives & Digital Collections

ArchiveGrid This link opens in a new window
ArchiveGrid is an important online source for searching through historical documents, personal papers, and family histories held in archives around the world. Thousands of libraries, museums, and archives have contributed nearly a million collection descriptions to ArchiveGrid. Researchers searching ArchiveGrid can learn about the many items in each of these collections, contact archives to arrange a visit to examine materials, and order copies. ArchiveGrid replaces RLG's Archival Resources as of 9/1/06.

Archives Unbound
Presents topically-focused digital collections of historical documents that support the research and study needs of scholars and students at the college and university level. Collections in Archives Unbound cover a broad range of topics from the Middle Ages forward-from Witchcraft to World War II to twentieth-century political history. Collections are chosen for Archives Unbound based on requests from scholars, archivists, and students.
Digital Collections (Library of Congress)
Search the vast database of LoC documents, texts, photos, and audio/video content.
Digital Collections (USF Libraries)
Provides online access to many materials from USF Libraries Special Collections as well as collections digitized through partnerships with other libraries and repositories.
Digital Public Library of America
HathiTrust
A partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.
Florida Memory
Digital outreach program providing free online access to select archival resources from collections housed in the State Library and Archives of Florida.
PALMM
Online access to historic resources from a number of Florida libraries, archives, and universities. Most materials in the collections are related to Florida history and culture.

Primary Sources - Other Suggestions

Search Google (or another search engine) for Historical Societies, State Archives, Museums, etc. to see if they have digitized materials from their collection. They can be a good source for maps, letters, photographs, etc.

Check out the websites for the university libraries and archives for you area. They may have digitized collections available or they may provide a guide to local resources.

Connect:

HIS 4936: Pro-Sem: Environmental History: St Pete

Librarian

Archives & Digital Collections

Primary Sources - Other Suggestions