This page offers a curated selection of freely accessible materials vital for STEM researchers. Key resources include open-access journals, databases, and repositories that provide cutting-edge research and data across various STEM fields. This page also highlights community science opportunities, encouraging collaborative projects that engage both scientists and the public in meaningful research. By leveraging these resources, researchers can stay at the forefront of scientific advancements and contribute to community-driven initiatives.
American Meteorological Society Journals:
The American Meteorological Society (AMS) publishes a range of journals covering all aspects of atmospheric, oceanic, and hydrologic sciences. These journals offer open access to select articles, providing researchers with valuable insights into weather, climate, and related fields.
New Journal of Physics (IOPscience):
The New Journal of Physics is an open-access journal published by the Institute of Physics (IOP) in collaboration with the German Physical Society (DPG). It covers all areas of physics and offers high-quality, peer-reviewed research freely accessible to the global scientific community.
Physical Review X (APS Journals):
Physical Review X (PRX) is an open-access journal from the American Physical Society (APS) that publishes original, high-quality research across all areas of pure, applied, and interdisciplinary physics. PRX aims to bring significant advances in physics to a broad audience.
Journal of STEM Education: Innovations and Research:
The Journal of STEM Education is a peer-reviewed, open-access journal focused on research and innovations in STEM education. It provides educators and researchers with valuable insights and practical approaches to enhance STEM learning and teaching practices.
International Journal of STEM Education:
The International Journal of STEM Education is an open-access journal published by SpringerOpen that disseminates research on STEM education. It covers a wide range of topics, including curriculum development, instructional methods, and educational technology, promoting best practices and innovation in STEM education.
RSC Advances (Royal Society of Chemistry):
RSC Advances is an open-access journal published by the Royal Society of Chemistry, featuring high-quality research articles across all areas of the chemical sciences. It provides a platform for researchers to share significant scientific advancements with the global community.
United States Geological Survey (USGS):
The USGS provides a wealth of scientific data and publications on natural resources, natural hazards, and the landscape of the United States. Its open-access resources are invaluable for researchers in geology, hydrology, and environmental science, offering comprehensive data and analysis tools.
Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission:
The FWC GeoData portal provides open access to a wide range of geospatial data related to Florida's fish and wildlife resources. Researchers and conservationists can access interactive maps, datasets, and tools to support environmental studies, habitat conservation, and wildlife management efforts. This resource is essential for understanding and protecting Florida's diverse ecosystems.
Data.gov:
Data.gov is the U.S. government's open data portal, offering free access to a vast collection of datasets from various federal agencies. It includes data on a wide range of topics such as agriculture, climate, public health, and more, providing valuable resources for researchers, developers, and the public to drive innovation and data-driven decision-making.
Tableau Free Public Data Sets:
Tableau provides a curated list of free public data sets that cover diverse topics including demographics, economics, health, and global development. These datasets are ideal for data visualization and analysis, helping researchers and enthusiasts to gain insights and create impactful visual stories.
IEEE DataPort:
IEEE DataPort is an extensive repository of datasets across various engineering and technology disciplines. It offers open access to datasets submitted by researchers worldwide, facilitating data sharing and collaboration in fields such as electrical engineering, computer science, and artificial intelligence.
NASA Open Data:
NASA's open data portal provides access to a wealth of data collected from space missions, satellites, and research programs. The datasets cover areas such as earth science, space science, and aeronautics, offering valuable resources for researchers, educators, and the public to explore and utilize in their scientific endeavors.
Google Patents
Google Patents allows users to search full-text patents and applications from over 100 patent offices worldwide, including the US, Europe, Japan, WIPO, China, Canada, and the UK. This comprehensive resource makes it easy to find and explore a vast array of patent information.
Espacenet is a database containing over 140 million patent documents from around the world. It provides free access to information on inventions and technical developments, making it a valuable tool for researchers and innovators.
Patent Public Search - US Patent & Trademark Office
The USPTO's Patent Public Search database offers access to US patents and patent applications. This resource is essential for anyone seeking detailed information on patents filed in the United States.
The Lens provides a comprehensive database of over 127 million patent records. It supports innovation by offering open access to global patent information, and helping users to analyze and understand the landscape of technological developments.
National Technical Reports Library:
The National Technical Reports Library (NTRL) offers the largest collection of U.S. government-sponsored technical reports. It provides extensive access to a wealth of scientific, technical, and engineering research results.
NASA Technical Reports Server (NTRS):
The NASA Technical Reports Server (NTRS) contains citations and select full-text documents of aerospace-related scientific and technical information created or funded by NASA from 1958 to the present, including its predecessor NACA (1900-1958). This resource is invaluable for aerospace research and historical studies.
Defense Technical Information Service (DTIC):
The Defense Technical Information Service (DTIC) is the Department of Defense's central resource for citations and full-text technical reports. Covering military and defense-related topics, the reports date primarily from the mid-1900s to the present.
Technical Report Archive and Image Library (TRAIL):
The Technical Report Archive and Image Library (TRAIL) is a digital archive of U.S. technical reports from dozens of agencies, focusing on documents from 1976 and earlier. It preserves and provides access to historical technical literature.
The primary search tool for science, technology, and engineering research and development (R&D) results from the Department of Energy and its predecessor agencies. It offers comprehensive access to DOE-sponsored research findings.